Custard Cookies

These have to be one of the best comfort and go to cookies for all occasions.  They are velvety and melt in the mouth, all the while being light, and well, just perfect.  When I do gift baskets of cookies and biscuits, these always feature.


Custard Cookies

 

Ingredients

180g soft butter
125ml icing sugar
5ml baking powder
250ml flour
160ml custard powder

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 160˚C.
  2. Cream the butter and icing sugar together.
  3. Sift the dry ingredients together and add to the butter mixture and mix well.
  4. Roll the mixture into small balls and place on a baking tray.
  5. Press the balls down with a fork.
  6. Bake for approximately 10 to 15 minutes until light brown.

 

Submitted by:  Mandy Frielinghaus, Mauritius

28 thoughts on “Custard Cookies

  1. I am so excited to see this recipe! I have custard powder on hand and other than using it for Nanaimo Bars I never use it. The cookie jar is currently empty and now I know what I am going to fill it with…thanks so much for what looks like another great recipe!

      • I made these and they were eaten before I got to take a picture of them! I pressed a couple of dried cranberries to the cookie tops, as when I serve custard we always like a dollop of jam on top, so I thought the cranberries would give it a similar touch..they were great cookies and especially loved by my elderly mother in-law and her friends…thanks again for sharing!
        I’ll be making some Nanaimo Bars again and will post a couple of different recipes.

        • I am thrilled they were such a hit, thanks for the feedback Cindy. I would love to have seen a pic of them with the cranberries on top – that is such a great and fun idea, especially now over the festive season. I am looking forward to your Nanaimo Bar recipes. :-)

    • Hi Celia, ooh, melting moments sound fabulous! I will get adventurous the next time I make these and will try a vanilla icing filling, or possibly a chocolate one, or maybe even a lemon infused one – then again, knowing myself, probably all 3! Thanks for a great idea!

  2. Pingback: Ginger Biscuits « The Complete Cook Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Wordpress Recipe Challenge ~ update | Promenade Plantings

  4. Pingback: Custard Cookies – A WordPress Recipe Challenge | Promenade Plantings

  5. Amazing recipe – I used to make these years ago in South Africa, and now living in the U.K., realise not many here know about these incomprehensibly – unbelievably – yummy out-of-this world delicious biscuits (cookies). Thank you for this recipe! Once you eat one – you just can’t stop! ;-)

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

