Bean and Tomato Casserole

I could honestly eat this every day.  Pete’s assistant first made this for me shortly after our arrival here in Mauritius and I get so excited every time she phones to say that she is sending home a portion with Pete.  It is so sweet that every time she makes this for her family, she keeps a portion aside for me.  Thank you Nan’s.  When we move back home, I will think of you every time I make this.

Broad (Butter) Bean and Tomato Casserole

Ingredients

500g packet broad/butter beans
5ml salt
5ml sugar
10ml oil
1 litre water
10 tomatoes roughly chopped
1 large onion roughly chopped
1 green chilli
6 garlic cloves
1inch piece ginger
2ml thyme
5ml parsley
5ml coriander

Method

  1. Soak the beans over night then rinse and place in a saucepan with the salt, sugar, oil and water and bring to the boil then reduce the heat and simmer for approximately 30 to 40 minutes until the beans are soft and half of the liquid has evaporated.
  2. While the beans are cooking, place the tomatoes, ¾ of the onion, chilli, garlic and ginger in a blender and liquidise.
  3. Place the remaining onion and thyme in a saucepan with a little oil and cook for 2 minutes and then add the tomato mixture and reduce down to a paste.
  4. Add the beans including the cooking liquid to the tomato paste and simmer for 5 minutes over a low heat.
  5. Add the parsley and coriander and stir through.

Submitted by:  Nanda Seebaluck, Mauritius

28 thoughts on “Bean and Tomato Casserole

  1. This looks delicious and, you’re right. It would make a wonderful meal on a cold day — and we have more than our fair share of those here in Chicago. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love it when food is associated with happy memories and wonderful people. What a lovely casserole, the perfect antitode to a rainy day like the ones we are having right now!
    *kisses* HH

  3. Don´t know how I missed seeing this the other day. I love every single thing about this recipe, and when the weather gets cooler will give it a go. It´s just a bit toooooo hot right now:)

  4. My husband is not into soup, but I LOVE soup and I should be making more for losing weight… I love carb too much. Since you mentioned this is really delicious I need to bookmark this and cook when my husband doesn’t need dinner. I love those days…hehee…

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

