Homemade Mayonnaise

I posted a recipe about 6 months ago for homemade mayonnaise  which you make using a stick blender and beaker, that I read about on Colleen’s aka Browniegirl’s blog and it is honestly the nicest and quickest (it takes less than a minute to make) recipe ever!  It can be tweaked to suit your taste and it is so incredibly satisfying seeing the contents in the beaker transform into mayo!  I was wanting a more tangy mayonnaise so amended the recipe a little more and was thrilled with the result.

Homemade Mayonnaise

as adapted from Browniegirl

Ingredients

1 extra large  egg at room temperature
5ml prepared hot English mustard
10ml lemon juice
20ml white vinegar
1ml salt
1ml pepper
2.5ml honey
250ml grapeseed oil

Method

  1. Place all the ingredients, starting with the egg and ending with the oil in the beaker.
  2. Push your blender into the beaker, immersing it completely so that it rests on the bottom of the beaker.
  3. Start blending at high speed for 15 seconds without moving the blender from the bottom.
  4. Holding the beaker still with one hand slowly raise the blender until it just reaches the top of the contents and then slowly push it down again, blending all the time for 15 to 20 seconds.

To make a richer and thicker mayonnaise, add an additional egg yolk before blending and if you like your mayonnaise slightly thinner, add a bit more oil and if you are wanting a more flavourful mayonnaise, add a chopped clove of garlic and a small handful of chopped parsley or any other herb before adding the oil and blending.

56 thoughts on “Homemade Mayonnaise

    • Hi Yummy – this is seriously the most awesome recipe! I haven’t tried it with Dijon yet, only hot English but I bet Dijon would be fabulous! The additions are endless! I have to hold myself back a little otherwise I will have mayo jars filling my fridge! Have a happy week. :-)

  1. Thank you for the mention Mandy. I am so crazy about this mayo and the way of making it. Perfect every time and there is so much you can do to adapt this recipe to suit your personal needs and flavours. I wish I had something to hand to dip into that awesome bowl of mayonnaise in that photo of yours! Have a great week xx

  2. HI Mandy – I always used to be a bit scared of making mayo until I came to Spain and found out everyone did it with the stick blender – super easy and super quick! I love this variation with the honey and mustard. Will give it a go soon, Have a great week :)

  3. I love home made mayo. My recipe is my mothers and so time consuming. I love yours. I imagine I can make it in a regular little blender as I do not have a stick blender! I will try it anyway.. c

  4. A beaker- now that is something I don’t have that I need to get so I can make this most amazing mayo I see right in front of me. I didn’t know it could actually be done. I mean yes I have seen Ina do it before but now your doing it and I have faith! LOL! It looks great!

    • It is honestly the quickest and easiest thing in the world to make! The best recipe I have come across in a very long time! Hope you get yours soon so you can also make your own mayo. Have a super week. :-)

  5. This is one of those preparations that once you attempt it, you wonder what took you so long to try it. I love it, as-is, and that you can modify the recipe to suit your unique tastes or particular needs at that moment. Great post!

  6. Oh, this sounds like a really good version with the lemon and vinegar – must add some zing. I love homemade mayo. Wonderful. Curious how you came about choosing grapeseed oil for this recipe?

    • I always like to keep grapeseed oil on hand as it does not turn carcinogenic when heated unlike olive oil and all the others. It also has a neutral flavour, which I thought would make for a good base for the mayo. Have a super day. :-)

  7. from your photo I thought it looked so dense it may have been cream cheese icing…..how mouthwatering looks this mayo! I love the blend of ingredients, and the easiest of methods for this recipe! have a great day x

  8. Its been a long time since I’ve made mayo and this sounds like a great recipe. I agree there is no better tasting mayo than freshly made. If I wasn’t sitting at my office now, I’d run in the kitchen to make some!!

  9. Where I stay there is no grapeseed oil. We can get canola, corn, olive, palm and “vegetable” oil. What would be best to use? ?

    • Hi Celeste, thanks for stopping by. You can use olive oil or vegetable oil (sunflower). I don’t enjoy the flavour of canola oil and battled to get it to emulsify before too so would steer away from that. Enjoy the mayonnaise and have a happy day. :-)

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

