Sweet balsamic rosemary dressing marinade sauce

During the week, weather, blogging, town visits and chores permitting, my friend Beryl and I hop on our bikes for a ride down to the post office to collect our mail. As with everything else, talk turns to food and what each other is making that evening for dinner.  Beryl mentioned a “sauce” that she had received as a gift and subsequent difficulty in finding this quite expensive wonderful product. Naturally I had to sample this lovely mystery sauce for myself and it is GOOD!  It is a salad dressing marinade sauce all wrapped up into one.  I scanned the list of ingredients on the back of the bottle and headed home to try and re-create it.  To quote Beryl, “You are such a clever child”; it seems I have come quite close to the flavour and like the homemade mayonnaise recipe I got from Colleen, will keep a supply of this wonderful sweet balsamic rosemary dressing marinade sauce on hand.  Thanks to Beryl for telling me about what she was making for supper that night, otherwise I would never have come across this yummy versatile sauce.

Sweet balsamic rosemary dressing marinade sauce

As inspired by Beryl

Ingredients

90ml balsamic vinegar
90ml spirit vinegar
90ml olive oil
45ml thick soy sauce
45ml honey
45ml brown sugar
15ml rosemary chopped
10ml mustard powder
10ml garlic crushed

Method

  1. Whisk all the ingredients together.
  2. Place in a saucepan, bring to the boil and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.
This beautifully silky thick sauce can be used to marinade steak, chicken and fish; be used as a salad dressing, drizzled over poached eggs or baked spuddies and can be swirled on top of soup to make it look pretty and why not coat your veggies before roasting.
40 thoughts on “Sweet balsamic rosemary dressing marinade sauce

  1. love this dressing and the idea it can also be a marinade. Rosemary and balsamic pair so well together. Now i need to decide what I want to have it with for dinner this week because I am so making this!

  2. Sounds fabulous! I’m not familiar with “spirit vinegar”? but I love the combo of balsamic and rosemary! I love to recreate products and dishes I find; it’s always so much more rewarding and better tasting!

  3. Yummy, and I have all the makings…

    Just wanted to thank you for your comment on my recent post, which, apparently someone found the writer of to be an intriguer of his country… as at precisely 9 A.M. the following day, ( Yesterday morning )some program hop – scotched over my Max Security program, and shut my “Windows” , so I had no chance of reconfiguring the hard drive obliteration bug they sent me…Imagine that… seems it just doesn’t pay to chide the “Um Hum ” department…as this is my 3rd new computer this year….But, after all my frustrations…imagine my elation’s… I’m back on line…only to find that this last post… was my 2nd most popular viewed … Ever!!! Bless You
    paul

  4. Mandy this is totally addictive. I read this post and went straight to my kitchen to make it! Boy, is it yummy! The only problem is, everytime I walk past the jar I have dunk a slice of bread in it it’s just sooo good. I also have it on my salad and on the skin of my baked potato. It would be perfect as a dipping sauce with ciabatta too. the possibilities are endless…thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Jenny – thank you so much for your lovely kind words – I am thrilled that you are enjoying it so much! It is frightfully addictive – I used the last bit I had over some butternut that I roasted and it was heavenly – a meal all on it’s own! Have a great day. :-)

  5. Now that sounds amazing! Great with pretty much anything I would imagine and, as someone said above, lovely for dunking bread in! Sorry have been slow in commenting, have been away but back now :)

    • Lovely to see you back again Tanya. I have been scarce on everybody’s blogs too as I have been busy this last week with my family tree. Should be back to normal this week. Have a super weekend. :-)

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

