Tandy’s Cake into Cupcakes

I still wonder if there is a support group for people like me who just cannot resist the urge of turning every cake into cupcakes?  I just really like individual portions plus a cake can get all messy when you slice it.  A friend placed an “order” for more cupcakes and I remember seeing a recipe in Tandy’s book which I have had  for a while now and not having made anything from it yet, set to perusing her recipes, which are in alphabetical order so naturally I got to the cake recipe before the cupcake recipe which reminded me of a Nigella Lawson cake recipe and got stuck thinking this would surely work as cupcakes… Yes, they do! :-D

Tandy’s Cake

Ingredients

125g self raising flour
125g sugar
125g softened butter
2 large eggs
¼ cup milk
1 tsp baking powder
Zest of 1 orange – I omitted this
½ tsp vanilla extract – I used 1 tsp

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Place off of the ingredients in to a bowl and mix together well.
  3. Pour into a lined and buttered baking tin alternatively divide the mixture into 12 muffin tins lined with paper cases.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes alternatively for 15 minutes in muffin cases.

I made a chocolate icing using 50g butter, 250g icing sugar, 10ml vanilla extract and if memory serves, 30ml cocoa powder and 30ml milk.

46 thoughts on “Tandy’s Cake into Cupcakes

    • Thanks Tandy. I am looking forward to trying something again soon – just can’t seem to stay ahead of everything at the moment – hoping it is just the time of year – well sounds great to use that as an excuse anyway. Have a happy weekend. :-)

  1. Oh Nigella is awesome but you are even better considering you made this cake into cupcakes. Not every cake can do that- so hats off to you for trying it out first and thanks to because now i know I can do it. Love the frosting and the cupcakes look so moist and yummy

  2. This made me laugh because I have a friend who doesn’t cook and called me once to ask why she couldn’t find cupcake mix at the grocery. I had to explain to her that she could use cake mix and put the batter into cupcake tins. It was an eye opening moment for her :).
    My daughter has made sticky toffee pudding to take for school parties for years and only recently did I think to make them in cupcake form so as to avoid the cutting and serving mess at school.. here they are

    http://worldplates.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/sticky-toffee-pudding-cupcakes/

    Thanks for your fun post!

  3. Yummy! That thick chocolate icing on top is sooo tempting!
    And baking a cake instead of cupcake has its advantage too; that way I can have a very thin slice, it would be strange to have half a cupcake. :-) But cupcakes definitely look much cuter.

  4. I would love the idea of turning cake into cupcakes (and I agree – you do that often and I love it) because that way we can control the portion…and share it easily without dividing up the cake. Yummy chocolate frosting – you make it so easily all the time. I know I need to catch up on cupcake making one day…

  5. What beats chocolate on chocolate….nah nothing!
    wonderful cupcakes…I too had a cupcake job this week…catering for little schoolers…we had a wow of a time! Have a great weekend! x

  6. If there’s a support group, don’t you dare join it! We cupcake lovers need you cupcake innovators to keep us supplied and happy. And speaking as a cupcake lover, that is one scrumptious-looking cupcake!

    • Well then, in the interest of you, my cupcake lovers, I shall refuse point blank on joining any group! *Thinks of a new cupcake recipe to celebrate not joining a support group.* Have a super weekend ChgoJohn. :-) xo

  7. I love cupcakes as well, easy to prepare and store. I can control my serving as well, with cakes I tend to get a big slice specially with a cake that looks good as the one on that photo.

  8. I may need to join that support group also. I just love the idea of cupcakes as pretty little gifts! And you’re so right, they don’t look messy like cutting into a cake!! leftovers are always perfect!!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

