In My Kitchen November 2011

The start of a new month means time for Celia’s “In My Kitchen” post.

Straight into it then.

In My Kitchen – November 2011

In my kitchen…

Is my cookie cutter and icing set which I don’t use often enough but with the silly season fast approaching, think I will get cracking with some cookies for family and friends.

In my kitchen…

Is my teapot I got from friends just before leaving the island and it pours beautifully.

In my kitchen…

Are the exquisite salad servers that we received as a wedding gift from a very dear friend of mine – can you believe I have never used then – so sad to have these stashed away in a cupboard so they are now out and ready to be used.

In my kitchen…

Is the sweetest kitty fridge magnet note holder which I received from one of my sister-in-laws (I have 4) and it travelled with us to Mauritius and back and will be sure to travel with us wherever we may go next.

 

In my kitchen…

Are vanilla pods that I brought back from Mauritius and 2 have not been put into bottles with a mix of vodka and gin (because that’s what we had dregs of) to make vanilla extract. :-)

In my kitchen…

Are my favourite champagne flutes which I got from my cousin about a hundred years ago.  We have just discovered a few forgotten bottles of Moët en Chandon in the booze cupboard so.. cheers.

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

43 thoughts on “In My Kitchen November 2011

    • Tradionally, you should use vodka. The only reason I used gin was because I didn’t have quite enough vodka to fill the bottles. :-) Have not tasted / used it yet. Gin has more of a “flavour” so I wouldn’t use it pure for vanilla extract, rather stick to the vodka. I will let you know how the mixture tastes though. :-)

  1. Love the cookie cutter and the tea pot- so cute! I need a tea pot now that I think about it:) Don’t you just love using the real vanilla pods over the extract. Makes such a difference in many recipes!

  2. I love the Champagne flutes and what a cookie cutter/decorator set! That thing looks like some serious fun. And I love the idea of pulling out wedding gifts that have sat in cabinets and using them again. :)

    • That’s the main reason I don’t use any of my other teapots Celia as they mess when I pour. Thanks to you for the wonderful idea of us sharing what’s in our kitchens with everybody – I look forward to doing this post. have a super day. :-)

  3. Seeing your cookie spritz/decorator does get me thinking about Christmas cookie baking. Spritz cookies always remind me of my mom. We had tons of them in every shape imaginable when we were kids. : )

  4. I like your groupings of pictures- somethings new, somethings from hidden places, some from forgotten places, some from the island, some rife with memories- that is how I see my kitchen- not what I have, but where and who it came from- what it celebrates!
    I always ask if I can test how a teapot pours before I will buy it.
    I’m annoying but I like most of my pots! :)

    • Hi Heidi, thanks for stopping by. I love when I open a cupboard in my kitchen and see something that I got as a gift from somebody special – makes for better memories. :-)
      Never thought of asking to test a teapot in store before – clever!
      Have a super day. :-)

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

