Apple Cinnamon Roly Poly

It was my dad’s birthday the other week and we were lucky enough that he and my mom were still visiting so we were able to share in his birthday celebrations.  My aunty Christine made her famous roly poly for pudding – this version was minus the raisins which I know quite a few of my fellow bloggers will appreciate.  The recipe is super easy and super versatile – you can swap out the apples for pears; you can add nuts or cherries, ginger and mixed spice.  Enjoy it on it’s own or serve it with custard, cream or ice cream.

The result of scheduled posts - this photo is not taken with my "real" camera

Apple Cinnamon Roly Poly

Ingredients

Sauce
2 cups water
2 cups sugar
2tsp butter

Roly Poly
½ cup butter
2 cups flour
½ tsp salt
2 tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
¾ cup milk
6 apples peeled
5ml cinnamon

Method

  1. Combine all of the sauce ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Once the sugar has dissolved switch off the heat.  Retain one cup of sauce.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  3. Rub the butter into the flour, salt and sugar.
  4. Add the baking powder and milk.
  5. Roll out to approximately 30cm x 40cm.
  6. Grate the apples over the pastry and sprinkle with the cinnamon.
  7. Roll up like you would a swiss roll and slice into 2.5cm thick slices.
  8. Place into a prepared oven proof dish and pour over the sauce. Retain one cup of sauce.
  9. Sprinkle over a little extra cinnamon before placing in the oven.
  10. Bake for 40 minutes or until baked through.
  11. Pour over the retained cup of sauce over the hot dish.
  12. Serve warm with custard or lightly whipped cream or ice cream.
66 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Roly Poly

  1. I’ve never heard of, nor tasted, a roly poly, Mandy, but I sure wish I had! It sound delicious! As much as I love apples and cinnamon, I doubt that I would ever try it with anything else & I cannot wait to have my very own roly poly baking in the oven, Thanks!

  2. I hated roly poly for years as they used to serve it for school lunches with lumpy custard. Fortunately I am now over that and really like it – but haven´t made it for such a long time. Thanks for reminding me about it and I love the versatility of the recipe. Bet your dad was a very happy man :)

    • Oh you poor dear – my dad and Pete both have horror stories about boarding school meals too – so glad you are back over to our side of the fence about roly poly. Maybe you should stick to having it with ice cream instead of the custard ;-) just in case. Have a super day Tanya. :-)

  3. This looks like a really awesome recipe, definitely going to try it… or try by delegation and ask my hubby or daughter to make it. ;) I have developed a kitchen allergy many years ago and only venture in to grab a cool-drink from the fridge or to load the washing machine. Well let you know how ti turns out… as I can’t ever remember eating a “Roly Polly” …so exciting to discover new things. Thanks for sharing ~ Mands

    • Hi Mands, welcome and thanks for stopping by. I am thrilled that you or your hubby and daughter are going to give this lovely recipe a try. I look forward to hearing how you all enjoy it. Have a happy evening. :-)

  4. I have never tried roly poly but it sounds really simple to make. I definitely gonna try this. It sounds really perfect as it is but I may add a little nuts in it too :)

  5. I had to admit that only roly poly I know is the bug (here goes my baking knowledge!). I didn’t even know the English name of this until my son told me. Thanks for introducing this delicious recipe! Happy B-day to your dad! How’s your new camera? Hope you are having fun with it!

    • Hi Nami – I have never heard about the roly poly bug before – see we all learn something new every day. I am having loads of fun with the new camera but still have lots and lots to learn so it may be a while before I can share some decent photos. Thanks for asking. Have a super day. :-)

  6. Looks delicious! I’ve never heard of a roly poly dessert, but it certainly looks good! Love the idea of adding a little bit of ginger and serving it up with ice cream :)

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

