Sakura Sushi

What a treat; on my last trip to visit the folks, we went to Sakura Sushi twice – yes twice and I was only there for 10 days. Oh happy days. :-)

Sakura Sushi have a special at the moment to celebrate their 10th anniversary.  For R100.00 you can eat as much as you like excluding 3 of the plates.  The prices work according to the colour of the plate, so it was easy to see what we were not allowed to eat as part of the special.  Well, let me tell you, I seriously battled to make up my R100.00 worth of sushi and I am a sushi fanatic.  I ate approximately R65.00 worth and was stuffed but fear not, I took my time and gobbled enough sushi to make up my quota.

As you are seated, you are given a nunu little bowl with pickled ginger and wasabi.  You have another cute little bowl which you can fill with as much soy sauce as your heart desires and obviously chopsticks which I seemed not to photograph.

Then it is time to dig in!  Where to start…  There are so many wonderful choices whizzing past on the conveyor belt of happiness.  And just when you think you have chosen the right one, another moreish option comes past.

It turned out that the black plates were all of our favourites – they all contained salmon or prawn and avo – wonder if that had something to do with it.

Here you can see why it is so difficult to make a decision – talk about being spoilt for choice.

Would you look at my skill using chopsticks. :-)

The decor of Sakura Sushi is beautifully done with a minimalist feel, which I love.

We were wondering if there are any spelling mistakes in this magnificent wall hanging.  I wonder what is says.

Some jasmine tea was a perfect ending to a truly memorable meal.

I was in no way compensated by Sakura Sushi.  I merely wanted to share my experience with you, so they were kind enough to allow me to take photos.

40 thoughts on “Sakura Sushi

  1. Mandy, I adore Japanese food, and this looks like a fabulous restaurant. I wish I could take my boys there, but sushi trains are a dangerous option for them – Big Boy used to sit by the kitchen window and snatch up plates off the conveyor belt as they came out. We used to feed him a sandwich before we went, just to try and keep the costs down. An all you can eat for a fixed price would probably go broke serving my kids! :)

  2. This is my kind of restaurant, Mandy! Everything is so tantalizing! I’m sure you had a wonderful dinner and am glad to see that you made it back there for a 2nd meal. Why not? It was your anniversary, after all. :)

    Happy belated anniversary!

  3. I love the way it looks but I can’t eat it, I’ve tried and it just doesn’t ‘do it’ for me.

  4. Wonderful, wonderful! Am very jealous as I have to make my own sushi here so only get to eat a couple of variations at a time. Must catch up on my sushi eating next time I am in London! Sounds like you had a marvellous (and well deserved) time there :)

  5. That is very affordable, but unfortunately I am not a big Sushi fan. I will eat it, but will not go out of my way to get it and will defintely rather order something else.

  6. Fabulous post Mandy! I love sushi and fortunately we have an abundance living here in Seattle. And you are quite the skillful chopstick user! I on the other hand need to practice. :)

  7. Oh. My. Goodness! If I was hungry before, I’m starving now! I love these photos, brilliant! It would be so wonderful if we had a place like this, I’d be there a lot. What a fun, fabulous post Mandy :) Thanks for posting!

  8. What a treat, well two treats.. sushi is divine and it is filling, i am glad that you soldiered on and did not let the side down!! what a pretty place too.. c

  9. What beautiful sushi…I want to dive into that first picture chopsticks flying! I can see why it was your favorite. What a wonderful deal and a lovely way to celebrate time with family as well as the restaurant’s 10th anniversary!

  10. ~~~~Ooooo, Mandy,
    Heaven. Such Lush Heaven.
    This place looks magical. I love the square sushi. I love it ALL.
    Did you sit on the floor? Did you have wine? Good conversation? Xxx

    • Hi Kim. We sat at the counter right in front of the conveyor belt watching the sushi being made. Not sure my folks would get down on the ground… hee hee. Well maybe down but then getting back up might be a problem. :-D We didn’t opt for saki as it is horribly overpriced at the restaurant – not a bad thing as I am not particularly fond of it so was happy with a G&T. Conversation with my darling Pete and fantastic folks is always good and happy. Have a beautiful day. :-) xo

  11. You have a nice chopstick skills Mandy! I haven’t been to this kind of sushi restaurant for a while (how do you call the rotating sushi dish thing in English? We call it Kaiten Sushi but I don’t think Americans call it so…). As a kid I enjoyed “picking” my favorite dish from those restaurants but as growing up I went for more quality stuff in regular sushi restaurant. I should really take my kids to this kind of restaurant for fun! Chinese and Japanese share some characters and I can read some of the decorations (they are all Chinese). 福 means good luck in Chinese and this restaurant use a lot of it in. Also the red is a lucky color in Chinese culture. :-) As I get older I like the floor seating WITH the hole under the table (like this restaurant) so I can put the legs inside… I can’t sit too long any more while bending knees! ;-)

    • Hi Nami. I am thrilled that you were able to read some of the decorations – I love that there is a symbol for good luck! I am not sure if there is an English word for the rotating sushi bar, will see if I can find anything out. I too love the idea of the table with the hole in the floor – much more comfortable. Have a super weekend. :-)

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

