Warm Chicken Salad

We were lucky to be enjoying some beautiful days for this time of year and the barometer has been topping the near middle twenties the last short while, well before the cold spell slap us in the face so a salad for lunch has once again been an option – yay!  This quick and easy salad will have you sufficiently satisfied until dinner time.  Quantities will depend on how many you are feeding or how hungry you are.  I don’t keep a lot of salad ingredients on hand this time of year – lettuce, cucumber and fresh herbs are standard though.  You can add anything else you have on hand and a little dollop of mayo (homemade of course) finishes this off perfectly.

Warm Chicken Salad

Ingredients

Chicken breasts cut into strips
1 egg beaten
Seasoned flour – I cheated and used Hinds Southern Coating seasoning (thanks Aunty Christine)
Baby gem lettuce
Cucumber sliced and quartered
Coriander leaves
Avo sliced
Mayonnaise

Method

  1. Dip the chicken in the egg and flour.
  2. Fry in a little olive oil and butter, turning to brown both sides.
  3. While the chicken is cooking, plate up the salad ingredients.
  4. Serve the chicken over the salad greens with a little mayonnaise
64 thoughts on “Warm Chicken Salad

  1. When chicken is fried and put on the salad, I can eat it as a main dish! Your photo looks really good. The chicken has the perfect color and looks crisp. Yum!

  2. It’s a lovely sunny day here in Pmb, I could fancy sitting out on the patio eating that with a glass of dry white wine! Just curious, do you dip into the egg and then the flour? I do it the other way round??

    • Get the wine ready, I am on my way with the salad…
      Yip, I egg then flour. When I am being extra bad, I usually dunk into flour first, then egg, then breadcrumbs. I will give it a go your way around next.
      Have a happy day. :-)

  3. This is going to be my lunch today! I’ve been wondering what to make with these leftover chicken breasts. I hope my chicken breasts will look as perfect as yours do. Beautiful Mandy! It’s 8 a.m. here and I’m already hungry for this. Is it too early? :)

  4. Warm chicken salad is one of my all time favorites and yours looks light and delicious. I’d leave off the mayo simply because I’m not a mayo fan, but this makes me want to have salad for lunch…no doubt about it! Love the avo with it, too.

  5. I normally don’t buy whole chickens because I’m not a fan of the breast portions. This, though, could change my mind. Your salad looks delicious, Mandy, and well worth a try. And that mayo recipe is just as tasty today as it was when you first posted it. :)

    • Hi John – because the breast pieces are fried for such a short amount of time and being protected by the crumb, they are lovely and juicy. Tell you what I will pop over to fry some up for you and you can make me one of those mascarpone puds. Have a super day. :-)

  6. That’s a beautiful looking chicken salad. I love how how you’ve crumbed the chicken. And yes, some homemade mayo would be perfect. Our weather is very cold now so I’ll hide this recipe away for when the weather warms up xx

  7. Mandy you have made me hungry and I’ve just had my breakfast! The salad is a winner – and as I’m the only one who eats meat and fish in our house, I’m thinking I could buy some chicken breasts and make these alongside a veggie salad. delicious

    • Hi Claire, that would definitely be a win win situation for you. I on the other hand have a hubby who is a big carnivore – sure we make up for what your family doesn’t eat. Have a superb day. :-)

  8. gorgeous and I am a great fan of your mayo as you know, in fact i need to make some more today.. I think i might be busy in the kitchen today!! c

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

