In My Kitchen – July 2012

In My Kitchen – July 2012

This month’s In My Kitchen is brought to you from a very cold kitchen.  Winter has not been very kind of late and the temperatures are well below what I can digest.  I am in no less than 3 pairs of socks at any one time.  This is the first winter we have had an electric blanket – oh what heavenly bliss – knowing that I can climb into a toasty bed at night makes this cold weather that much more tolerable and the fur babies are enjoying the benefits of a warm bed too. :-)

In my kitchen…

Is a huge bowl of lemons which I have just harvested from our 2 trees.  I am only showing you the prettier ones.  There are some that look very peculiar with knobbly bits and blemishes.  They are all fabulously juicy and I am guaranteed to be making more than one Lemon Meringue Pie and recently found what looks like a super easy lemon and poppy seed cake – naturally though I will be turning it into muffins.

In my kitchen…

Is the sweetest Honey Pot which I received from a boss forever ago.  Sadly I don’t use it very often as the ants always find their way through the little gap in the lid.

In my kitchen…

Are my “antique” little Mustard Spoons which haven’t been used in a while.


In my kitchen…

Are two bowls which I bought at the local supermarket when we were living in Mauritius.  Not quite sure why I never bought more, they were dirt cheap.  The famous hindsight…

In my kitchen…

Are 2 wooden bowls which used to belong to my FIL.  I was recently reminded of them when I saw a post over at Misk Cooks.  Misky was looking for and eventually found wooden bowls to use for course salt and pepper.

In my kitchen…

Is a jar of pickled onions gifted to us from a friend.  Thanks Cazzie.

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

54 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – July 2012

  1. Goodness! June just flew by and now we’re peaking into your kitchen again. 3 pairs of socks? You must be freezing. And I don’t know who invented electric blankets but s/he should have been awarded some sort of prize. As you noted, that toasty bed feeling is truly heavenly.
    It’s a shame the honey pot isn’t useable because with so many lemons, you probably need some honey handy. :)
    Thanks for showing us a bit more of your kitchen, Mandy.

    • I am not sure how I survived without an electric blanket before John! I will fill the honey jar for a special occasion sometime to share how pretty it looks filled with you. Have a great day and so sorry that I can’t visit your blog at the moment. It takes me at least 5 minutes just to approve one comment and reply to it – very frustrating! Catch up soon. :-)

  2. We also bought an electric blanket this year! I swear that if we didn’t have a wall heater in our bathroom that I wouldn’t ever take my clothes off! :) Love those little oblong dishes.

    • Wall heater in the bathroom *super jealous*. Can’t wait to see what’s happening in your kitchen this month just as soon as our flipping internet is sorted. Moderating comments takes f o r e v e r – urgh! Have a super day. :-)

  3. I had to laugh when you said the winter was not being kind – our summer is not being kind either. I am sitting here with the central heating on and it is supposed to be July. I love your little honey pot.

    Did you see that I was “Freshly Pressed” on WordPress this week. My blog is having something of a purple patch!

    • Hi Natalie. Being the summer baby that I am, I am not entirely sure I would be able to live in your climate. I visited in summer a few years back and it was lovely but winter, hmm, not so sure! How lovely that you were freshly pressed! Sorry that I did not see it. Our internet has been more than a problem for just short of a week so I haven’t seen much at all! I feel somewhat cut-off from everything! Have a super week. :-) xo

  4. I love your little wooden bowls. Beautiful. And those blue and white bowls are so lovely! I must write up my July In The Kitchen this week. :)

  5. I’m so sorry to hear you’re so cold.. those electric blankets are wonderful and I’ve been meaning to purchase one for a number of years, even just to warm up the bed before I jump in it would be heaven! I adore your little honey pot.. it’s just so sweet with the little pewter(?) honey bees all over it.. what a shame, those dratted ants are so annoying.. my parents have that problem at the lake! As always, I really enjoy visiting your kitchen and marvel at the wonderful new “stuff” you’ve got there. Mine tends to stay the same unless I’ve gone antiquing and found a new dish:) Stay warm!! xoxo Smidge

    • Hi Smidge. I HIGHLY recommend getting yourself an electric blanket. I cannot believe we survived without one for so many years. I think the little bees are made out of pewter. I must admit to pull out some oldies from the back of the cupboards for these IMK posts. It’s like a mini adventure finding something for the next month’s post. I hope to be able to be over to your blog again tomorrow, just as soon as our internet worries are behind us. I am ever hopeful that when I wake up in the morning that it will be miraculously fixed… Have a super day. :-) xo

  6. It’s cold here too, in fact minus five this morning, so I can sympathise with you on feeling it. Love the lemons, they are my favourite ingredient. And the little honey pot is so cute, Do you have ants in the winter?

  7. Nice Mandy. i can’t stand a cold winter either, it seems I don’t get warm until spring. The electric blanket is the way to go; stay warm!

  8. I love the lemons- fresh and juicy beats lovely anyday when it comes to citrus!
    And the mustard spoons are kind of neat- do you collect them or were they from a former life?
    I love gifts of food from friends- it is almost as nice as an invitation to dinner.
    Thanks for inviting us into your kitchen this month!

    • Hi HeidiAnnie. Hope you have had a good month. Most of the mustard spoons I inherited from my in-laws so sadly no exotic stories to go with them. I look forward to popping over to see what’s in your kitchen just as soon as we have our internet back up and running at a normal speed. Have a lovely day. :-)

  9. Your Honey pot is adorable! I know you just wanted to rub in the fact that you are cool and comfortable. I blow some heat and humidity from Hong Kong your way. Take care, BAM

  10. Love it all, Mandy! Thanks for sharing your kitchen with us! The honey pot is especially appealing – what a shame it’s not antproof! And oh, how I long for the day when we can have oodles of lemons, rather than our single solitary fruit! :)

    • Thanks Celia! I thought of you and your lonesome lemon when I took the picture. I look forward to catching up with your posts just as soon as our internet problems are sorted out. have a lovely day. :-)

  11. Mands, I love this stuff in your kitchen, I am lusting after the lemons, the HONEY POT and the divine mustard spoons. My birthday is 31 October FYI. Love moi ♥

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

