Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

I have a fantastic recipe for Lemon and Poppy Seed Muffins but I am always up to trying a new recipe, especially if it is quick and easy.  I saw this recipe (originally a cake but you all know I like to make individual portions) over at The Hungry Mum.  When I try a new recipe, I always make it as stated.  The flavour of these muffins are spot on but I wasn’t entirely happy with the texture – they were a little heavy.  Take two with a slightly amended method, replace the butter with oil, add salt, one less egg et voila, a lovely light muffin which made for a lovely pudding with a scoop of ice cream.  Thanks Hungry Mum.  I hope you don’t mind that I amended the recipe.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Slightly adapted from The Hungry Mum

Ingredients

½ cup sunflower oil
¾ cup caster sugar
2 extra large eggs
¾ cup milk
5 tsp lemon zest
2 cups self raising flour
½ tsp salt
7 tsp poppy seeds

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Line 12 muffins pans with paper cases.
  3. Beat the oil and sugar together.
  4. Add the eggs one at a time and beat until foamy.
  5. Add the milk and lemon zest.
  6. Fold in the flour, salt and poppy seeds.
  7. Divide the mixture between the 12 muffins pans and bake for 15 to 16 minutes.
52 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

    • Hi Sarah, thank you so much! I have just realised that I am no longer getting your notifications of new posts! Not sure what happened there so I have just hoped over and signed up again. Have a lovely day. :-)

  1. These are Mr. N’s favorite muffins! He would eat these on mornings we would visit the coffee shop in our old hometown. Great memories!

  2. I didn’t know substituting with oil would lighten up baking? And the one less egg.. I’ve learned something new today. I much prefer a lighter muffin and these would be so good this morning with my cup of joe!!

  3. Among all kinds of muffins, lemon & poppy seed is one of my favorite – just so simple and goes so well with a cup of tea. This one looks very lovely and I bet it tastes delicious! Love your shot from sideways!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

