Baked Spuddy with left over Roast Chicken

Well, this is a bit of a cheat as you bake the spud in the microwave so you don’t get that beautiful crispy outer skin but it certainly satisfies the hunger pang a lot quicker than baking it in the oven.  This is one of those meals which should really qualify as an Un-Recipe and one I enjoy all too often when Pete is away.  As you know, I have my butt planted on my office chair for too many hours in a day which means I need a satisfying meal in minutes.  It’s not because I have not thought ahead of time, it’s just that turning what I took out in the morning into a meal would just take too long.

Baked Spuddy with left over Roast Chicken

Ingredients

1-2 potato/s per person
Butter
Thin slices of onion
Crushed garlic clove/s
Left over roast chicken cut into pieces – proof that I cooked the night before
Mayonnaise
Chopped parsley

Method

  1. Pierce the potato a few times and bake for 3 to 6 minutes (depending on the size) on high.
  2. Cut the potato as desired and top with the remaining ingredients.
58 thoughts on “Baked Spuddy with left over Roast Chicken

  1. And if you have an extra 10 mins, you can just pop the microwaved potato into a super hot oven and get a sort of crispy skin! Perfect comfort food (especially as I am guessing it´s getting colder where you are right now),

  2. Mandy, this sounds perfect for one of those nights where cooking is one of the last things one wants to do. Ready in minutes, it sounds delicious. I only wish the recipe had been posted 1 day earlier. I had leftover chicken for dinner last night. This would have been so much better — and will be the next time I’ve leftovers. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. I am seeing a tend here among all of my foodie buddies all quick and easy meals. This one is one even my teenagers might not think as leftovers as they love potatoes and anything smothered in cheese has to be good. Do you think I could hide some broccoli or vegetables for them as well?

  4. Yesterday I came here right before going to bed and I remember “Liking” it and after that I fell asleep! Sorry I meant to leave a comment… :-)

    I love your expression “my butt planted on my office chair”! That’s what happens to me at night after kids go sleep. My husband calls me “a statue”. Anyway, as a potato lover, I love this dish. Piercing the potato is a great idea – I’ve never done that but will cook a lot faster and evenly. Delicious looking dish. Love that you use mayonnaise. It goes well with potatoes!

  5. Don’t you just love baked potatoes as a nice lunch? I think this is wonderful Mandy, what a great choice of ingredients for this oh so perfect un-recipe. Thank you for this!

  6. This is a great way of getting another meal out over the night before’s dinner. And taking a few shortcuts after working long hours is perfectly acceptable too. I love this and think it would be a great casual meal, perfect for a night in front of the TV xx

  7. Sometimes i wish everyone would go away for a night so that i could have a nice simple and completely satisfying meal like this.. I love potatoes! c

  8. Well.. this is awesome, I’m often trying to whip up something quick for myself or my kids when my hubs is out of town and I don’t feel like cooking up a complete meal! Very pretty.. especially when I can see the drips of butter… yum!!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

