Johannesburg to Sundays River Road Trip 1 of 2

I will dedicate this weeks posts in photographs to the road trip Pete and I took a couple of weeks ago.  I flew up to Johannesburg as Pete was there on business and visited with him and my folks.  Pete stays with my folks when he is in Jo’burg so it really works out well.

We left early in the morning and for the first couple of hours it was still dark and extremely cold.  The car beeped a few times with a frost warning as the temperature went down to 3°C – brr!

These shots are by no mean the best I have ever taken – trying to quickly capture sometimes before it zooms past you while being in a moving car proved to be a little challenging and a first for me.  Most of these shots made me think of Miss C over at The Kitchen’s Garden and with each shot I would say to Pete that Celi would like this shot.  C, think of this as one HUGE farmy with a few extra goodies thrown in!

Lots and lots of cows

I love old windmills

A very gloomy sky

I lost count of how many road stops there were due to road words and each times we would pass SO many trucks

I took this while stopped at one of the road stops – tracks leading nowhere

The middle of nowhere

A train going through the middle of nowhere

It never ceases to amaze me how there is always a burnt out car in the middle of nowhere

Obedient sheep walking neatly in a row

The second half coming up on Thursday. :-)

50 thoughts on “Johannesburg to Sundays River Road Trip 1 of 2

  1. HI Mandy, I remember those longs trips, the scenery hasn’t changed much:) Were you snowed in this weekend – we are just freezing here in GP. Laura

    • Hi Laura, it was lovely doing a road trip again – it has been quite some time. Thankfully our weather here at Sundays River wasn’t as bad as the rest of the Eastern Cape – lots of lovely soaking rain, mad wind on Saturday evening and revoltingly cold temperatures. Today the sun is shining and the temperatures have risen to a liveable limit again. Thanks for stopping by and have a happy afternoon. :-)

  2. There are far too many trucks on the roads these days, I get very nervous when on the highway. I remember years ago that we used to play ‘spot the wreck’ when going through the Transkei, you had to say what make of car it used to be! Great pics.

    • Oh no – the pressure – it is a jalopy car – did I guess right? ;-) It was shocking to see the amount of trucks on the road and they ALL drive like a bunch of idiots! have a lovely afternoon. :-)

    • Thankfully all the cows are safely behind fences Bam. I shudder at the thought if they had access to the road – the way people drive so ridiculously fast and recklessly, there would be guaranteed accidents. Have a lovely day. :-)

  3. Thanks, Mandy, for taking us along. I enjoy seeing a country’s terrain and find it fascinating, your “Middle of Nowhere” pic being a favorite. Zipping by at 80 kph, or so, it is hard to imagine the early settlers driving wagon teams across that land. Now, that took courage and a great deal more determination than I could muster.

    • Hi John. We were zipping by at more like 120kph and I often think of the early settlers and what life must have been like! We are heading out to Plettenberg Bay today (a 2.5 hour drive) to visit family – a quick impromptu decision before Pete has to head back to Johannesburg for business. I hope to get a few more shots for you. Have a super day. :-)

    • Thanks darling Kim. All well here thanks! The kitties are all snuggling close of late with this extremely cold weather we have been having and our baby defended her big brother and sister last night (oh so bravely) when another cat came into the house uninvited! Such a brave little thing! Have a beautiful day. :-) xo

        • For the most part it has been pretty grim and cold – hovering around the 13 deg C mark – which is cold for us. We have been enjoying a berg wind today which mean cold weather is on its way. Hopefully our winter won’t last long. Kim, I would love to adopt another kitty but think Pete will run for the hills screaming! 3 seems to be the limit. Have a lovely day. :-) xo

  4. Great photos! It’s tricky to capture moving at speed isn’t it! And I just love the “middle of nowhere series”. And the shot of the gloomy sky with a peak of blue – stunning! Looking forward to the next part of your trip :)

  5. WOW that you so much for the mention and thank you so much for making sure I got here, only having the time to visit once or twice a week means i miss out on so much, but not this time. I adored that old windmill too. What extraordinary country you drove through and when things are so barren did you find your eye started looking for the details, like the road to nowhere and the mountains far far away.. wonderful landscape.. wonderful shots.. now off to look at your other page. Thank you for leaving me the link Mandy , gorgeous work.. wonderful lines.. celi

    • Thanks Celi for popping in to see these shots, I really was reminded of you the whole drive as every other photo had your farmy written all over it. Since owning this wonderful camera, I have been looking at everything differently – it’s opened up my eyes to a whole new world – it’s wonderful! Thank you for your lovely compliment too C. Have a beautiful Saturday. :-) xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

