Chinese Style Lamb, Pork or Beef

When I read about this recipe over at my friend Tanya’s blog, Chica Andaluza, I quickly commented that I was going to get some pork ribs out of the freezer so I could get cracking with making this delectable recipe but alas the pork ribs turned out to be lamb ribs – no matter.  Even though I had pork in mind, this was lip smacking good using lamb.  I will be making this again using pork and beef – just for research purposes of course to decide which I like best.

I amended the recipes slightly mainly out of necessity as I didn’t have any star anise or dry sherry in stock so I omitted the star anise and replaced the sherry with red wine which I always have on hand.

Chinese Style Lamb, Pork or Beef

Ingredients

45ml vegetable oil for frying
1kg Lamb/Pork / Beef for slow cooking cut as desired
1 large onion roughly chopped
50g peeled fresh ginger roughly chopped
6 cloves of fresh garlic
15ml water
15ml Chinese five spice powder
5ml freshly ground black pepper
100ml brown sugar
50ml soy sauce
50ml red wine
30ml tomato purée
250ml chicken or beef stock

Method

  1. Heat the oil in a saucepan and seal the meat on all sides (in batches if necessary). Remove the meat and reserve in a separate bowl.
  2. Blitz the onion, ginger, garlic and water to a paste in a food processor then fry gently until softened in the same saucepan you used for the meat.
  3. Add the five spice and pepper then after a minute add the sugar, soy sauce, wine, tomato purée and stock .
  4. Add the meat with any juices and stir to coat the meat in the sauce.
  5. Bring to the boil then reduce to a simmer and cook gently for 2 hours.
  6. Remove the lid for the last 30 minutes to allow the sauce to reduce and thicken.
54 thoughts on “Chinese Style Lamb, Pork or Beef

  1. These ribs look so very succulent, Mandy. I don’t recall ever seeing lamb ribs here but i wish I did. I really do enjoy lamb and lamb ribs would be fantastic!

    • They just fell apart they were so soft and succulent John. What a pity you can’t get lamp ribs! Tell you what, I will bring some when I come and visit for my pasta lessons… Have a great day. :-)

  2. Most people accustomed only to ‘fast-food’ Chinese won’t recognize the spirit of this or other long-braised meals as being very Chinese. I love the Sichuan varieties with lots of bean paste, chili and Sichuan peppercorns added :)

  3. I tend to stay close to the more regular items in the chinese cuisine but it’s time i start trying out what else this wonderful cuisine offers coz i seem to be missing out. Lol. Those ribs look soooo juicy and tender!!!

    • Once with rice and once with mashed potatoes so that is even less Chinese – don’t tell you mom. ;-) I was hoping to do the dish with pork so I hope your mom would give me an extra point for that. ;-) Have a lovely weekend. :-)

  4. Major, major drooling going on here…. I’m totally going to use pork for this. I know for sure my family will love this. Need to buy five spice this time – I’ve been meaning to buy this forever. Sigh! Have a great weekend Mandy!

  5. Guess what I have in the freezer!! And guess what i will be making next week, this just looks and sounds wonderful.. My ribs recipe is so pedestrian thanks to you and Tanya for spicing it up for me! c

    • Thanks Tanya! I will be making this again tonight using soft shin – can’t wait to enjoy it. I will let you know what I think. Oh n o, now I feel bad that you are away from you kitchen for such a long while. Just think how much you will enjoy it when you get back home. Have a super weekend Tanya. :-)

  6. Good on you *and* Tanya! Sounds delicious either way, though I’m not an anise fan and would have deleted that myself anyhow; even though there’s a little of it in most Five Spice blends, it’s not quite so assertive there (and I could always make my own Five Spice mix, too, of course). In any event, this looks and sounds so exquisite I can almost smell it from here! Or is that the rack of pork ribs I have in the sous vide cooker for tomorrow? Never mind, I’m going to try some version of your recipe soon anyhow!! :D
    xoxo
    K

    • Ooh, you sous vide ribs sound absolutely heavenly! Wonder if I would have the patience for cooking that way… I have often thought about making my own 5 spice blen to, then I think I would probably be tweaking it and tweaking it and tweaking it, well you get the idea. Have a beautiful weekend Kathryn. :-) xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

