Must Make Muffins

Seriously, you MUST make these muffins.  They are fantastic!  I got this wonderful recipe from my Aunty Christine who seriously knows what she is talking about when it comes to baking.  The mixture needs to stand in the fridge overnight but it is well worth the wait and if you bake the entire mixture (24 muffins) they freeze beautifully too!  Once defrosted, they are as fresh as if they were just baked.  Oh and they stay fresh for days after baking too so these are perfect as lunch box fillers.  Alternatively keep the mixture in the fridge and bake 6 or 12 at a time.  Thanks again for the awesome recipe Aunty Christine. :-)

Must Make Muffins

makes 24

Ingredients

1½ cups brown bread flour
1 cup bran
1 cup oats
¼ cup brown sugar
3tsp bicarbonate of soda
1tsp cinnamon
1tsp ginger
1tsp nutmeg
1tsp salt
1 cup raisins
1 cup chopped dates
2 cups grated apple
1 banana mashed ± ⅓ cup
2 eggs
4 tsp vanilla essence
¼ cup oil
2 cups milk

Method

  1. Combine all of the ingredients, cover and refrigerate overnight.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  3. Stir the ingredients and divide amongst 24 prepared muffin tins lined with paper cases.
  4. Bake for approximately 20 minutes until a skewer inserted comes out clean.
54 thoughts on “Must Make Muffins

  1. These do look like amazing muffins and I love how the mixture keeps in the fridge and how the muffins stay fresh for a few days after baking. I’ll have to try these – they sound very healthy too xx

  2. Finally a muffin recipe that won’t leave me eating 3 muffins for a week. Being able both store the batter in the fridge and freeze the excess muffins means I can pretty much enjoy a fresh muffin whenever I want. Thanks, Mandy!

  3. okay, you’ve convinced me! I’m baking these muffins! Espeically since I spotted the dates and I’ve got some freshly purchased dates I’ve been eager to use in a recipe!

  4. What a fabulous list of ingredients….all flavors I love. How great that they can be frozen too. Thank you Mandy!

    • These are so darn addictive Sarah that I get a bit worried when I scoop the last of the mixture into the muffin tins, thinking if I have enough of the ingredients to make another batch. Have a beautiful weekend. :-)

  5. What is brown bread flour? Is that wheat? And I’m guessing by “coats” you meant oats? Sorry, just a muffin fanatic here! They look good and healthy.

    • Oh my goodness, I saw the error but never corrected it – thank you for picking up it Ashley, it is indeed oats! To be “technically” correct, brown bread flour is white bread wheat flour, to which approximately 12% fine wheaten bran has been added. Quite frankly I am positive that any flour (cake, all purpose etc) would all work exceptionally well in these muffins. Happy baking and I look forward to hearing how you enjoy these. :-)

  6. These muffins do look so good, the addition of oats and bran appeals to me. What might be a slight problem is that I’ve run out of freezer space – ooops we’ll hav eto eat them all, or maybe I could be good and share :)

  7. I see bran in some of muffins before but I actually don’t know what it tastes like. Most likely I had it without realizing it’s bran though. I like the part that these freeze well and they are still fresh. As I don’t bake often, “freezing” and keeping them longer (less baking time) sounds very attractive. Haha I’m silly… =P

  8. Pingback: Raspberry Jam Muffins – Karista's Kitchen

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

