Homemade Brown Bread

I go through phases of using certain ingredients and playing around with the results of recipes.  My latest favourite is yeast.  It is fascinating to think that a teaspoon or two of a dry ingredient combined with some warm water and a little patience can yield such satisfying results.  Vetkoek is always a favourite and this lovely easy bread is equally as satisfying and fun.  This recipe is a half portion of my vetkoek recipe using brown bread flour.  Next up is Nutty Wheat flour with seeds of sorts, possible pumpkin…

Homemade Brown Bread

Ingredients

2 cups brown bread flour
1st instant yeast
½ tsp salt
1tsp sugar
1 tbsp oil
1 cup warm water

Method 

  1. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Add the oil and water and mix to combine.  The mixture will still be quite sticky.
  3. Place the dough on a floured surface and gently knead for 5 minutes.  You may need to add a little more flour over the top of the dough to prevent it sticking to your fingers.
  4. Place the dough in a clean bowl and cover with a cloth and set aside in a warm spot until the dough is double in size.
  5. Softly knead the mixture on a lightly floured surface and then place in a prepared bread tin.
  6. Allow the dough to rest and fill the tin.
  7. Preheat the oven to 190°C.
  8. Bake the bread for 20 minutes or until baked through and lightly browned.

66 thoughts on “Homemade Brown Bread

    • Oh I can just imagine what you have available to you there. Whenever I see “fancy” loaves, I always want to pick them up and take a big bite then remind myself, I don’t have any butter in my back pocket so will wait till I get home. Enjoy the rest of your stay with your folks. :-) xo

  1. This bread looks lovely! I love making my own bread. I think I haven’t bought bread for a long time, except one time I needed it for a photo. After I pull my bread out of the oven, I inhale: the smell is unforgettable, warm, comforting… :)

    • Hi. Oh my, I have absolutely no idea if it will work in a bread maker – I am sure it must. As far as I know the thing with a bread maker is to place the ingredients in in a certain order. Sorry that I am not much help, but I have never owned a bread maker before. Have a happy weekend. :-)

  2. There is nothing better than homemade bread. The texture in this one looks wonderful & I hope to give it a try. My husband could make a meal of just bread but I’ve never played with it much other than loaves of French bread – time to expand & explore.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

