Mandy’s Tempura

The festive season is well under way so you may have noticed my lack of visiting your blogs – sorry about that.  Things may be higgledy piggledy until the new year before I am back in the swing of things – I will pop in periodically though just to keep up to speed with you all as I hate missing out on things. 🙂

I love when I can put something together that really works, especially the first time and this tempura is one that has jumped right to the top of my favourite list.  I call it Mandy’s tempura as I am sure it is not a traditional recipe and has a slightly thicker consistency, although you could thin it a little by adding more club soda.  This recipe doubles very well too which works well for sharing these light crispy morsels with family and friends.

Mandy's Tempura 1

Mandy’s Tempura

Ingredients

½ cup flour
1 tbsp cornflour
¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda
½ tsp salt or season of choice
1 egg yolk
½ cup ice cold club soda

Method

  1. Combine all of the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Add the egg yolk and club soda and mix until just combined – leaving lumps.
  3. Dunk any julienne vegetable or protein (I used chicken) and fry in medium hot oil until light golden brown on both sides.

Mandy's Tempura 2

36 thoughts on “Mandy’s Tempura

    • Kim, you have been so in my thoughts lately. Feel like we haven’t touched base for a while. It must be the festive season. We have loads of people in and out right through the holidays and with the weather being so lovely we are going to be doing a lot of al fresco dining with a braai on the menu just about every night so it will be a somewhat boring list for you as I will mostly only be making salads and cupcakes, although I will try and get adventurous with my salad ingredients. Hope you are well my sweet friend. Love to you and all your family. xoxoxoxo

  1. Can’t remember when I last had some fried stuff…miss them. These fried chicken bites are so golden brown and crisp.

    • It’s wonderful having a little fried something here and there Angie – such a treat. I am still battling to leave a comment on your blog – hope I can soon again. Have a beautiful and happy day. 🙂 xo

    • Here’s to some quiet time in the next short while Charlie. Thank you for your lovely compliment. I think the secret is getting the oil to the right temperature. Have a happy day. 🙂 xo

  2. This sounds wonderful. A bit of cornstarch, along with club soda, makes the crispiest coating. That Mandy sure knows what she’s doing. You can tell her I said so. 😉

    • This is far too wonderful John. Somewhat addictive! That Mandy gets it right every now and again. Just with she got it right more often. Have a beautiful day and hope you are enjoying the holidays. 🙂 xo

  3. Higgledy piggledy is something we all understand and I felt a pang of (nice) jealousy reading that you will mainly be dining al fresco with the braii in the next few weeks. Thanks for a reinder of how good tempura is – yummy! Take care dear Mandy 🙂

  4. My dearest, may you have a spectacular, love- and joy-filled holiday season! Sending many big hugs your way, along with the fondest wishes for a glorious year in 2015.
    ❤ ❤ ❤
    Kath

  5. Just wanted to pop in and say G’Day from Singapore. Am travelling in Asia for the next month, so will have limited access to the inter webs to comment and catch up on your posts. But … I will check in when I can. I hope you have a spectacular Christmas my dear friend, fingers crossed Santa brings you all the lovely things you want. I am so happy we reconnected this year, I sure am lucky having such wonderful, beautiful and kind people in my life like you. I think you are amazing. Sending you GIANT hugs and all my love. xox

    • Aww darling Anna, how special of you to pop in while you are away. I cannot wait to hear all about your Asian trip – it must be incredible!
      Beautiful love filled an happy Christmas blessings to you hon. It has been a wonderful year with being able to reconnect and looking forward to getting to know you even better next year, in person! xoxoxo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)