The food pyramid

We know we should eat more of certain foods and less of others but it can all get a bit confusing.  This easy to understand guide will make it easier to keep track.

The food pyramid is a nutrition guide suggesting how much of each food group you should eat each day for a healthy diet and to maintain a healthy weight.  In general terms the food pyramid recommends the following intake of different food groups each day and serving sizes based on a 2000 / 2200 calories per day diet.

  • 6-11 servings of grain such as rice, bread, cereals, and pasta
  • 3-5 servings of vegetables, especially green, leafy vegetables
  • 2-4 servings of fruits
  • 2-3 servings of meat, poultry, fish, eggs, nuts, or beans
  • 2-3 servings of dairy products including cheese and yogurt
  • occasional use of fats, oils, and sweets


1 thought on “The food pyramid

  1. Pingback: Back To Basics | Grace Gibson

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s