Poppy Seed Loaf

Before everybody gets a sugar overload, I thought it best to have something more on the savoury side of things and this Poppy Seed Loaf is an absolute winner.  Enjoy it warm with lashings of butter (naughty I know but oh so nice) or allow it to cool and enjoy with Avocado and Tuna Mould, Salmon Mousse or Chicken Liver Pâté.

Poppy Seed Loaf

 

Ingredients

250ml flour
750ml nutty wheat flour
30ml poppy seeds
10g instant yeast
5ml salt
100ml butter
50ml honey
350ml lukewarm water

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 150°C.
  2. Mix the flour, nutty wheat flour, poppy seeds, yeast and salt together.
  3. Rub the butter into the flour mixture.
  4. Mix the honey and water together and add to the dry mixture.
  5. Knead and place in a plastic bag.
  6. Allow to rise for about 45 minutes or until double in size.
  7. Knead and place in a greased loaf tin and leave to rise covered in plastic wrap for 45 minutes.
  8. Remove the plastic wrap and bake for 1 hour.
  9. Leave the bread in the oven for 15 minutes after baking with the oven switched off.

 

Submitted by:  Mandy Frielinghaus, Mauritius

19 thoughts on “Poppy Seed Loaf

  1. Were you thinking of me when you mentioned the sugar overload? 😛 By the way, this bread is fantastic! I never know what to do with poppy seeds.

    • Hee hee, I did actually. 😀
      So pleased I could help with a use for your poppy seeds. They are also great sprinkled on top of normal dough before baking, and one of my favourite uses for poppy seeds is in my Lemon and Poppy Seed Muffins – I will be posting this recipe next week Friday. 😉

  2. The loaf looks really fantastic. I bought poppy seed bread long time ago from some store. It looks just like your pic and it was so good.
    This really inspires me to bake 🙂

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Poppy Seed Loaf « The Complete Cook Book Blog -- Topsy.com

  4. I was just looking at my stock of flour today and thinking I should use up some of the brown varieties! This is the solution – I love the sound of the bread.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

