Cheese and Onion Bread

Just to balance out the ever growing sugar content, I thought it best to throw something savoury into the mix again.  For those of you in the warmer climates enjoying braai’s (barbecues) this festive season, this bread is always a welcome and enjoyed accompaniment and quite honestly is nice enough to enjoy as a meal on it’s own.

Cheese and Onion Bread

Ingredients

625ml bread flour
15ml baking powder
2ml salt
125ml cheddar cheese grated
15ml chopped fresh chives
15ml chopped fresh parsley
1 medium onion grated
2 extra large eggs
250ml milk
Grated cheddar cheese for topping

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 °C.
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together.
  3. Mix in the cheese, herbs and onion.
  4. Whisk the eggs and milk together and add to the mixture and blend until a soft dough is formed.
  5. Turn the mixture into a greased loaf tin.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes.
  7. Sprinkle the additional cheese on the top and bake for a further 10 to 15 minutes.

 

Submitted by:  Mandy Frielinghaus, Mauritius

23 thoughts on “Cheese and Onion Bread

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Cheese and Onion Bread « The Complete Cook Book Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. I love breads with cheese. I may have to try this one. I like that it has chives in it too. One of my all-time favorite cheese breads is a parmesan tomato that I used to pick up warm from a bakery at my university. I would run home and slather butter on it!

  3. Pingback: Michael’s Chili « Oishii!

  4. Hi Mandy–I had a couple of questions the second time around. Funny how that happens with cooking/baking. Can you clarify the size of the loaf pan you use? Also, I was finely chopping, rather than grating the onions which you do, and I had reservations about the amount of onions I had in front of me. I know onion sizes can vary greatly. Any idea the weight of the onion you use?

    • Hi Michael, no worries. The pan I use at home for this bread is 23cm x 13cm but while living on the island used one that was somewhat narrower but longer – never brought it home so can’t give you measurements on the one I’m afraid. I love onion so am never worried about having too much but reckon it could change the baking time and possibly texture of the bread – I use an onion that is somewhere in the region of 150g and 195g before being peeled and grated. Hope this helps. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

