Lemon Meringue

There is no easier or a more satisfying tart than this Lemon Meringue and not surprisingly it is another one of those childhood favourites that my Mom still makes and will always remain a firm family favourite.  I often use it as a backup dessert for the times when I don’t really feel like thinking of something else to make and it always gets oohs and aahs.

Lemon Meringue

Ingredients

½ packet tennis biscuits
50g melted butter
397g tin condensed milk
2 egg separated
½ cup lemon juice
50ml castor sugar

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C.
  2. Crush the tennis biscuits and mix in the melted butter.
  3. Press into a small pie dish and place in the fridge.
  4. Mix the condensed milk and egg yolks together.
  5. Add the lemon juice and mix until just blended.
  6. Pour the mixture over the biscuit crust.
  7. Beat the egg whites until stiff and then slowly add the sugar and continue beating until the egg whites look silky.
  8. Spoon the egg whites over the lemon mixture and gently smooth over, leaving the egg whites puffy.
  9. Bake for 10 minutes.

25 thoughts on “Lemon Meringue

  1. Hi Mandy, Love this recipe. So easy.
    Do you have a recipe for the Lemon Meringue using Lemon Curd and no Condensed milk? It makes a more tart Tart!
    Say Hi to Pete for me please!
    Greetings from Sundays!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Lemon Meringue « The Complete Cook Book Blog -- Topsy.com

  3. Wow, this looks heavenly, I have a sweet tooth so I would definitely love this. I never knew this was easy to make, same goes with similar styled recipes like pavlova and brazo de mercedes.

  4. Your lemon meringue sounds so easy. I really love to try this…but I’ve been searching for lemon in the market for few day now, they’re not available. Do you think I can use lime instead?

    • Hi Tes, it is really easy. I have never made it with lime juice before but I am sure it will work just fine. Possibly start with less lime juice as it is more tart/sour tasting than lemon so you may well need less to get the desired taste. I would love to hear how it turns out if you make it with lime juice.🙂

  5. I have never made lemon meringue pie filling or crust this way, but I am intrigued and must now try it. What exactly are tennis biscuits like? I have never heard of that term and will have to find a suitable cookie here to make the crust.

    • Hi Cindy, this is such a lovely tart and super easy to make and even better to eat.😉
      Tennis Biscuits are a tea biscuit made with butter, syrup and coconut and are commonly used as tart bases, whole or crushed to form a base. Hope this helps.

  6. i love lemon meringue pie but never attempted to make it at home. you make it sound so easy. i might give it a try.
    thanks for sharing.
    hope you’re having a wonderful week

    • Hi Green Girl, thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you give this recipe a try, it is super easy and oh so yummy.🙂
      You have a fabulous blog – I have just signed up to receive your updates so I don’t miss out on anything.

    • Charlotte, I can highly recommend making this.😉 Promise, you will be making it again and again and again…
      Tennis Biscuits are a tea biscuit made with butter, syrup and coconut and are commonly used as tart bases, whole or crushed to form a base. Hope this helps.

  7. I adore lemon meringue! This is a really easy twist on the classic recipe. I think it’s amazing when you think of all the different desserts you can make using sweetened condensed milk. Really makes things so much simpler!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

