Cindy’s Fishcakes

I interrupt my own scheduling to share with you a recipe that a new blogger friend was kind enough to post on her blog for me – so special.  Cindy is a fellow South African who blogs about her fiction, poetry and recipes.

Patience has never been one of my strongest virtues so I pushed aside my original dinner plans for last night to make these super yummy fishcakes.  Sadly I am out of ginger so omitted this from the recipe and didn’t think that it was missing at all, however will be making them again soon including the ginger to appreciate the full Thai flavour.  Due to the heat here I popped them in the fridge for 20 minutes just to firm up slightly before cooking.

Best of all, these are an absolute cinch to make – just my kind of recipe.  Thanks again Cindy.

 

Cindy’s Fishcakes

(slightly adapted from The Only Cin)

Ingredients

1 tin Alaskan or Norwegian salmon – (I used a 418g tin of John West Wild pink Salmon)
2 slices brown bread crusts removed – (I only had white so used that)
1 large egg lightly beaten
½ cup chopped parsley
½ cup chopped coriander
1 medium onion finely chopped
1 chilli finely chopped – (I used a small red chilli and removed the seeds)
Juice of 1 lime
1 teaspoon crushed ginger – (I omitted this and added salt and pepper instead)

Method

  1. Drain the fish and reserve the liquid.
  2. Remove the skin and bones from fish and place in a bowl.
  3. Soak the bread in the reserved liquid and squeeze out the excess before adding to the fish.
  4. Add all the other ingredients and mix together.
  5. Divide the mixture into desired size cakes – I made 8.  Cindy does them in tablespoon size.
  6. Fry over a medium heat in olive oil until golden brown on both sides. 

 

10 thoughts on “Cindy’s Fishcakes

  1. Hi, Mandy. Thanks for visiting my blog, which has given me an introduction to your fascinating site. I really like the range of your recipes and helpful tips. Are you cats anywhere to be found on The Complete Cookbook?

    The fish cakes look really tempting, and I still have lots of frozen local salmon from the big run here this summer. I might want to try a Thai twist with it – the ginger would give it that flavour.

    Stay in touch,

    Dan

    • Hi Dan, nice of you to stop by and thank you for the lovely words about my blog.
      Sadly my children cats don’t feature on my blog. I’m sure if they did, they would take over. ;-)
      The fishcakes are lovely and will be fabulous with fresh salmon. :-) Mandy

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

