Lemon Drink Concentrate

I have such fond memories of this wonderful refreshing drink from school holidays at Sundays River during hot summers over Christmas and New Year.  It is a fabulous thirst quenching drink for a hot summers day while lazing at the pool and best of all, it can be diluted per individual taste.

Lemon Drink Concentrate

 

Ingredients

1½ litres boiling water
2kg sugar
1 pkt citric acid
1 pkt tartaric acid
1 pkt Epsom salts
8 large lemons (juice and rind)

Method

  1. Pour the boiling water over the sugar, acids and Epsom salts and lastly add the lemon juice and rind and mix to combine all the ingredients.
  2. Bottle and refrigerate.

Dilute per glass as needed.

Submitted by:  Christine de Villiers, Port Elizabeth


16 thoughts on “Lemon Drink Concentrate

  1. Wow!! This is a new one for me when it comes to lemonade. I can’t wait to try it this summer and compare the two…you know summer mad scientist fun with the monkeys 🙂 Sounds delicious!

  2. Hi Mandy, I will be totally honest with you. I really like your recipes, it brings back wonderful memories, drinking sangria, eating hot sweet pickles… The 2kg sugar ‘scared’ me a little! I suppose its 1,5 litres and will be diluted further, not so bad but still I almost fell of my chair:)

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Spring With A Virtual Dinner Party « Manna and Quail

  4. Could someone tell me if they have ever made batches of this drink recipe and then frozen it for later use. I have limited refrigerator space but unlimited deep-freeze space and have been asked to make a large quantity for an up-coming gala/fundraising event. Thought I might be able to freeze it, then defrost, bottle on the morning of the event and then send it off for sale. However I don’t want to do anything that might ruin the product, or worse still make somebody ill.

    Many thanks.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

