Top 10 Kitchen Items

Top 10 kitchen items

Since living abroad for two years and being away from my kitchen and the luxury of all my kitchen wares, I have had to become somewhat adventurous when it comes to cooking and baking as the home we rent is very barely stocked.

It is also quite a challenge to have guests over as we only have 6 of everything and when I say six of everything – I mean the bare basics and essentials – not conducive to entertaining for an evening, and not to forget the ever missing dishwasher! One of the first things I am going to kiss when we return home is my dishwasher! It has been quite a task and no fun being without it.

To make things more liveable and comfortable, we had to purchase a few items to get us through day to day cooking and got me thinking about the items I just cannot be without in the kitchen.

My top ten items (groups of items) are:

  1. Chef’s knife
  2. Cutting board
  3. Measuring cups and spoons
  4. Can opener
  5. Mixing bowls
  6. Wooden spoon
  7. Spatula
  8. Pyrex dishes
  9. Wok
  10. Muffin tin

I am sure Pete would say that ice trays are missing from this list.

What are the 10 things that you could just NOT do without in your kitchen?

9 thoughts on “Top 10 Kitchen Items

  1. I must do one of these posts!
    Chef’s knife I CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT
    Cutting Board A NECESSITY FOR SURE
    Measuring cups and spoons SEE ABOVE
    Can opener THANKFULLY MOST CANS ARE RING PULL ONES HERE
    Mixing Bowls I HAVE ONE!
    Wooden Spoon NEED LOADS
    Spatula SEE ABOVE
    Pyrex dishes HAVE ONE
    Wok HAVE ONE
    Muffin tin HAVE ONE
    wow, good list πŸ™‚

  2. love your list, i read the this post the other day and took me a while to come up with my list, here it is :
    1. stand-up mixer
    2. kitchen scale
    3. cutting board
    4. knifes
    5. spatulas
    6. 8″ pan
    7. heavy bottom pan
    8. deep dish casserole
    9. cookie sheet
    10. measuring cups

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

