Chocolate Muffins

When I saw The Ordinary Cook’s recipe for Mini Chocolate Muffins a short while ago I promised that I would make them the following morning; I did and had two for breakfast!  They come together in just a couple of minutes and took just under 10 minutes to bake – perfect.  The secret to these light, fluffy muffins is double sifting the dry ingredients and to “just” mix them into the wet ingredients.  You can make these into double chocolate muffins by adding chopped chocolate – sadly I didn’t have any on hand and the next time I make these, I will also add 2.5ml salt into the mixture.

Chocolate Muffins

slighty adapted from The Ordinary Cook

Ingredients


Dry Ingredients
125g plain flour

25g cocoa powder

5ml baking powder
2.5ml salt – not in the original recipe
Wet Ingredients
1 egg

50g sugar

25g butter melted

100ml milk
50g chocolate chopped

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Sift the dry ingredients together into a bowl.  
  3. In another large bowl mix together all of the wet ingredients.
  4. Sift the dry ingredients over the wet ingredients and add the chopped chocolate.  
  5. Mix very briefly until the mixture just starts coming together.  It must look as if you haven’t mixed it properly
  6. Spoon heaped teaspoonfuls into 12 cupcake cases in a muffin tin.
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes until firm on top or a skewer inserted comes out clean.
  8. Cool the muffins on a wire rack.
24 thoughts on “Chocolate Muffins

  1. These really sound delicious. Who could resist them? I’m new to your blog and have spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. I really love the food and recipes you feature here. I also love the tips you pass on to your readers. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Hi Mary, welcome and thanks for stopping by and for your wonderful compliments. 🙂 I popped over to look at your blog too. It is fabulous but sadly I cannot subscribed to your RSS feeds – it has something to do with AppleMac. I can only subscribed by email and didn’t see this available. Looking forward to sharing more with you. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

