Sweet Chilli Sauce

I knew that when I saw Tandy’s recipe for Sweet Chilli Sauce a little while ago I had to make it.  Pete and I go through copious amounts of Sweet Chilli Sauce, store bought though so the chance of making a homemade batch was top of my list.  I made the recipe as given by Tandy however the chilli content was way above my threshold plus the quantity the recipe yields would not last Pete and I very long, so I halved some of the ingredients and doubled others and it turned out to be a lovely sauce.  

Sweet Chilli Sauce

Adapted from Lavender and Lime 

Ingredients

2 chillies finely chopped – I omitted the seeds
2 garlic cloves crushed
5ml oil – the original recipe called for butter
20ml cornflour
100ml sugar
100ml white spirit vinegar – the original recipe called for white grape vinegar
100ml water

Method

  1. Melt the butter in a pan and sauté the chillies and the garlic without allowing them to change colour.
  2. Mix the cornflour with the sugar, vinegar and water.
  3. Add the mixture to the pan and bring to the boil.
  4. Remove as soon as the mixture begins to thicken.
  5. Place in a sterilized glass jar.


20 thoughts on “Sweet Chilli Sauce

    • I use it for so many different things:
      Mixed with soy sauce to marinade steak or chicken for a stir fry
      Mixed with mayonnaise for use as a dipping sauce
      Mixed in with my mince (ground beef) that I use to make lasagne
      Mixed with beer as a marinade for shrimps
      Served along side french fries instead of ketchup
      Served along side crumbed chicken breasts
      Poured over Philadelphia cream cheese with coriander (cilantro) and crackers
      Spread over cheese and crackers
      Hmm, looking at my list, I don’t really use it for anything healthy except maybe the stir fry and I am sure to remember lots more as soon as I submit this reply. 😉 All in all, it is a really versatile and yummy sauce. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

