Zucchini Slice

When I first started blogging, Fig Jam and Lime Cordial was one of the first blogs I started following and Celia continues to inspire me with her unwavering quest of making as much of her family’s food from scratch.  I am convinced that Celia ranks as one of the best bread bakers too.  Recently, she shared her friend Genie’s Zucchini Slice.  I made it yesterday and it was lovely.  I am not sure it turned out the way it was meant to but it was yummy all the same and reminded me of quiche.  It may be because I beat the eggs (Celia did not mention to do this).  Next time I make it, I will divide the mixture into 12 muffin tins. 🙂

Zucchini Slice

Slightly amended from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

Ingredients

5 rashers of bacon
5 large eggs lightly beaten
½ cup oil
2 cups grated zucchini
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
1 large onion grated
1 cup self raising flour
Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Dice the bacon and fry until crisp.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  3. Place all the ingredients including the bacon in a large mixing bowl and stir to combine.
  4. Turn the mixture into a prepared loaf tin and bake for 1 hour.
29 thoughts on “Zucchini Slice

  1. Great zucchini slice, I made one also last week, sliced it up into squares and put half away in the freezer. I combined carrot, zucchini and pineapple more a cake version than a savory slice. All delicious, zucchini’s are so versatile in cooking! x

  2. Mandy, thanks for trying Genie’s slice, and for the lovely comments – you’re always so kind! 🙂

    It does indeed turn out like a crustless quiche, setting quite solid and sliceable, just like yours. It keeps well in the fridge and makes a great lunchbox treat as well! I think the only real difference between yours and the one I make is that you might grate everything more finely than I do – it’s always a lazy meal for us, so I just grate it all on the coarse blade! (Yours looks more elegant and refined!). 🙂

    • Thanks for the lovely compliment Celia. I also grated everything on the coarse blade, if memory serves, I think you called for chopped onion. I will be enjoying slices of this through over the next few days. 🙂

  3. This looks really good. Something I could take to work for our Birthday Breakfast celebrations. I haven’t used self rising flour.. do you know if adding baking powder / soda would work if I used regular flour?? Also, is a rasher of bacon a slice?? all these silly questions!
    Thanks,
    Amy

    • Hi Amy, what a great idea to take this to work for a Birthday breakfast.
      You can absolutely use regular flour, just add 5ml of baking powder for every 250ml of plain flour used.
      Yip, a rasher is a slice of bacon.
      There is no such thing as a silly question. 😉
      Have a happy day and thanks for stopping by.
      🙂 Mandy

  4. I couldn’t agree more., Celia is one of my favourite blog heroes too., she always manages to inspire me & she is the go to place when I want to make good home cooking. Love this zucchini slice – just the thing as I’ve got more than my fair share of zuchinnis in the fridge (what was I thinking!!!!) 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

