Apple Sauce

We recently had friends over for an impromptu  dinner of rolled pork roasted in the Cobb with roasted veggies, creamy mashed spuds and a family favourite gravy.  All we needed to compliment this meal was Apple Sauce so I quickly whipped up a small batch.  Recipes just don’t get any easier than this.  It was fabulous and the quantity was perfect for 4 servings however the recipe can easily be doubled.

Apple Sauce

 

Ingredients

2 sweet red apples peeled cored and diced
5ml lemon juice
125ml apple juice

Method

  1. Place all the ingredients in a microwave dish, cover and cook on high for 10 minutes.
  2. Push through a sieve.

If you like a thinner consistency, stir through additional apple juice.

 

23 thoughts on “Apple Sauce

  1. This is really good for pork dishes, in fact I used this on my recipe called pork in apple cider braise but I use a commercially available apple suace, now with this post I can make it at home

  2. I totally forgot about apple sauce. Haven’t made this in a while now 🙂 Your version looks really simple and I bet my son will love it 🙂

  3. What a great recipe to have in your arsenal.
    My brother-in-law makes a mean pear sauce like this too.

  4. Ah, apple sauce… whitout lemon it’s my baby’s favourite snack. He would eat only apple sauce and I make it everyday for him. It’s fantastic for us adults, too! 🙂

  5. Roast pork with apple sauce, roast potatoes and parsnips plus crackling is what I’d eat if I had to choose my last ever meal. Fab on any occasion.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

