Yorkshire Pudding

We had friends over a while ago and as per usual, talk turned to food and we were explaining that as a family, we don’t eat our Yorkshire Pudding with our meal, we save it for afters and sprinkle it with sugar and the roast beef gravy.  Whether you enjoy it with or after your meal, Yorshire Pudding is a must with roast beef.

I couldn’t resist a taste, hence the cropped right hand corder of the picture.

 

Yorkshire Pudding

Ingredients

3 large eggs
250ml cake flour
250ml milk
5ml salt

Oil for baking

Method

  1. Beat all the ingredients together until well blended.
  2. Set the mixture aside to rest for 30 minutes before baking.
  3. Preheat the oven to 200°C.
  4. Put sufficient oil at the bottom of a roasting dish to cover the base and heat in the oven for 10 minutes.
  5. Pour the mixture into hot oil and bake for approximately 25 minutes.  Leave longer if you want a crispy Yorkshire.


20 thoughts on “Yorkshire Pudding

  1. I haven’t had Yorkshire Pudding in years! My mom used to make it for us during Christmas when our friends from across the pond would come and stay with us. Come to think of it, I’m not sure I’ve ever had it as an adult…it’s probably time to revisit this!

  2. I only started making Yorkshire pudding a couple years ago…I love it…I make mine in a muffin pan and fill the center with gravy…i can understand why you couldn’t wait to taste it.

    • It depends on what I feel like on the day – I find baking it in a large dish produces a slighly heavier pudding versus the muffin tins which produces much lighter little puddings. Thanks for stopping by to read about my Yorkshire recipe. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

