Baked Spring Rolls

On occasion I feel the need to try something a little healthier with certain foods and Spring Rolls was next on my list.  They turned out equally as enjoyable as the fried version and went down a treat with some Sweet Chilli Sauce.  Quantities of the ingredients will depend on the amount being made and not sure that the recipe was going to be a success, I only made 6.

 

Baked Spring Rolls

Ingredients

2 cups red and green cabbage finely sliced
1 small carrot grated
1 small onion finely sliced
2.5ml salt
Bean sprouts
6 spring roll wrappers

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Stir fry the cabbage, carrot and onion and salt until tender but still crunchy.
  3. Place one wrapper onto a work surface in a diamond shape.
  4. Place a 6th of the cabbage mixture onto the bottom quarter of the wrapper  and put bean sprouts on top of the mixture.
  5. Fold up the bottom corner of the wrapper over the mixture and then fold the left and right sides into the centre and roll up leaving the top quarter of the wrapper still on the work surface.
  6. Wet the two sides of the wrapper with a little water before rolling over the rest of the spring roll.
  7. Repeat until all the spring rolls are made.
  8. Bake for 15 minutes.
22 thoughts on “Baked Spring Rolls

  1. I’ve got a big catering job on the 10th of May, this will be a great addition to my lunch menu, wonder if I could use phyllo pastry?

  2. I like your idea too. I cringe whenever I see recipe that calls for deep frying. Not only is it unhealthy, but deep frying scares me. I think I would have a heart attack if a deep vat of oil ever caught fire in front of me.

  3. These would be great for a holiday buffet. Wish I would have seen them sooner, would have made them for my Easter buffet. Would love to have you link these up at for my Easter/spring party 🙂

    • Sorry that you missed making these for your Easter buffet – maybe next year. 😉
      Thanks very much that you want these for your Easter/Spring party – I am popping over now to link them. 🙂

    • Hi Betty, welcome and thanks for stopping by. I know, can’t believe I never thought of baking spring rolls before. 🙂 You have a great blog but unfortunately I cannot subscribe to RSS feeds, something to do with Apple Mac. Would be great if you could add an email subscriptions button. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

