Easy Banana Bread

I saw the recipe for this tasty Banana Bread on Linda’s  Fired up Cooking SA‘s blog.  I felt a slight twinge of guilt though when I made it, as I have stated in the past that my family’s recipe for Banana Loaf is the one of the best!  While it is still a brilliant and well loved recipe, Linda’s version is so much quicker and like Linda says, all you need is a fork and a bowl.  Ordinarily I use very ripe bananas for Banana Loaf but only had “just yellow” ones on hand and they produced a lovely light banana flavour.

Easy Banana Bread

Ingredients

3 or 4 bananas (I used three and they made up 1 cup)
1/3 cup melted butter
1 cup sugar (I used brown sugar)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1½ cups all purpose flour

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Grease a small loaf tin.
  3. Mash the bananas in the bowl with the fork.
  4. Add the melted butter and mix in.
  5. Add the sugar and mix in.
  6. Add the egg and beat into the mixture.
  7. Add the vanilla essence and stir in.
  8. Sprinkle the bicarbonate of soda over the mix and blend in.
  9. Add the flour and mix through.
  10. Pour the mixture into the loaf tin and bake until a skewer inserted comes out clean.  Mine took 45 minutes.

24 thoughts on “Easy Banana Bread

  1. This looks much healthier than my banana bread recipe and so nice and quick too!! I think i’ve always waited until my bananas are super ripe so I might try more yellow one’s next time. Thanks Mandy!!

  2. I love how easy it sounds! And look so delicious too! I have one banana recipe that I’ve been using for the past 10 years. I don’t bake, so when I find a good one, I just stick with it. Maybe it’s a good chance now to try a new one. 😉

  3. a year ago I found a banana bread recipe that I thought it was the best, few months later I tried a new one which I found great and few weeks ago adapted one from taste of home which I can say it’s the best so far.
    Funny, how we change our minds when we try new recipes.
    Your loaf looks moist and crumby, would be perfect with a cup of tea.

    • I wonder how many variations of banana bread are out there and who was the first clever person to think of it? 😉 It is always nice to have a banana bread on hand for afternoon tea. 🙂

  4. Hey!!!! You made ‘my’ banana bread recipe!!!!! That’s SO AWESOME – thanks for the link 🙂

    My daughter made this loaf again last night – she added a little chopped dark, milk and white chocolate and a handful of pecan nuts. It was decadent, I tell you!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

