Creamed Mushroom Soup

I usually use a punnet of white mushrooms and a punnet of brown mushrooms for this soup, but with all the different varieties available on the market today, I bet it would be a hit with any combination of mushrooms.  The brown mushrooms do tend to make this soup quite dark though so if you prefer a lighter looking soup, rather opt for portabella’s.  The last time I made it, I used only white mushrooms and was equally as tasty.

Creamed Mushroom Soup

Ingredients

125ml butter
1 medium onion finely chopped
1 punnet mushrooms finely chopped
1 punnet mushrooms roughly chopped
60ml flour
4 cups chicken stock
4 cups of light cream
Salt and pepper to taste
Chopped parsley and basil to taste
125ml cup sherry

Method

  1. Melt the butter in a pot over a medium heat.
  2. Add the onions and sauté until they are soft.
  3. Add the mushrooms and cook for 5 minutes.
  4. Add the flour a little at a time stirring it in as you do to help prevent lumps.
  5. Add the stock a bit at a time stirring as you do to prevent lumps. After enough stock has been added to make everything liquid, add the remaining stock.
  6. Bring to a boil then reduce to a low heat and simmer for 5 minutes. This will allow the flour to thicken the soup.
  7. Add the cream, salt, pepper, parsley and basil. Gently simmer the soup without boiling for a further five minutes to allow the flavours to mix completely.
  8. Add the sherry and stir through just before serving.


38 thoughts on “Creamed Mushroom Soup

  1. Another stunning soup. Reminds me of when I was young and tinned cream of mushroom soup was a special treat (my mum always made soup out of whatever was in the fridge, so I guess that´s where I first got into soup making). If we were off school and unwell we were allowed to sit on the sofa, wrapped in a duvet and to drink it out of a mug. Which for some reason was also a bit special! I think your version of this soup would be much nicer though…

  2. Oh! Love mushroom soup, actually I don’t think there’s a soup I don’t love! Funally enough I only had a conversation on soups last night, we cooked a chicken/ veggie combo last night and we decided that tomato would next be on the list…a long time favourite but one I haven’t made in ages!

  3. This really looks terrific. I’m relatively new to your blog and I don’t often comment, but I did want you to know I’m here and enjoy the time I spend on your blog. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Thank so much Mary for such a beautiful comment. 🙂
      I thoroughly enjoy your blog too – your header graphic is simply perfection! I battle to leave comments sometimes though.
      Blessings to you too. 🙂

  4. I love mushroom anything – this would be no exception I’m sure, looks delicious! I’m another one home sick that you’ll have to come over to make it for. Hope you are on your way 😉

  5. Yay one more soup recipe! What’s “light” cream? I assume you are not talking about heavy whipped cream…then I don’t know what ‘s “light”. Maybe I’m not buying these cream enough that I’m missing “light” cream option at the shelf in supermarket. I have to take a look next time. This sounds very lovely. I make miso soup everytime I cook Japanese food (which is like 5 days a week?), so I need to learn more Western soup! 🙂

    • Light cream is the same as single cream and has left fat than whipping cream and heavy cream so you were correct. 😉 I will be sharing a few more soup recipes for you to add to your Western way of cooking soup folder. 😉

  6. I’ve been really getting into soups as winter has hit with a bang here in the great southern land, I’ve been eyeing off one of my recipes for Mushroom Soup, but yours looks delicious Mandy 🙂

  7. Oh Mandy – what a divine recipe!!! I can just imagine the depth of mushroom flavours, and rich cream – oh and then the sherry!!! Perfection!!! I HAVE to make this, and soon – good thing I’m shopping tomorrow 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Michelle. It is always the recipes fault when something doesn’t work out. 😉 That’s our story and we are sticking to it. 😉 If you do try this recipe, I would love to hear how you enjoy it. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

