Pasta Rice Salad

My cousin visited with us at the end of April and the weather was so lovely during his stay that a lot of the evening meals were braais (barbecues), and  fearing we would tire of Braai Sarmies and pap ‘n sous (maize meal and tomato/onion sauce) I  threw a Pasta Rice Salad into the mix.  This type of salad reminds me  of Christmas lunches as a child – such wonderful happy memories.  Green pepper (capsicum) and or raisins would also be nice added to this salad.

Pasta Rice Salad

Ingredients

375ml pasta rice
1 small onion diced
4 tinned peach halves diced
10ml curry powder
125ml mayonnaise
45ml chutney
15ml vinegar
Optional extras – diced green pepper (capsicum), raisins

Method

  1. Cook the pasta rice according the the package instructions and allow to cool.
  2. Combine all the other ingredients together in a bowl.
  3. Add the pasta to the sauce mixture and stir through.

20 thoughts on “Pasta Rice Salad

  1. This looks delicious and it will be perfect for late spring and early summer meals. I like this a lot. I hope you have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  2. At first I thought there are pasta and rice in it. Sorry I guess I’m not familiar with this kind of salad! So it’s the shape of pasta is called Pasta Rice, I guess? I liked you added curry powder and peaches. Sounds like summer salad. Delisih!

  3. THANK YOU for Pasta Rice Salad Recipe.
    I once tasted PASTA RICE SALAD. It was delicious. I Bought the Pasta Rice,
    BUT nobody could actually give me a
    recipe. Now for the making . . .

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

