Cabbage, Onion and Mushroom Tarts

Tandy’s challenge for this week is to cook something savoury using cabbage.  I really wish Woolies was down the road so I could pick up some baby cabbages but alas, I will have to wait a little longer.  In the meanwhile, I bought half a cabbage at Super U and my idea for petit chou tarts turned out beautifully soft, full of flavour and the individual portions made for a lovely lunch.

Cabbage, Onion and Mushroom Tarts

Ingredients

1 large onion peeled and sliced
125g button mushrooms sliced
3 cups finely sliced cabbage

Egg Custard
2 eggs
250ml cream
125ml milk
½ 60g packet white onion soup powder
2.5ml salt
2.5ml pepper

250ml cheddar cheese

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Fry the onion and mushrooms in a little butter until tender.
  3. Add the cabbage and stir fry until tender and set aside.
  4. Combine all of the egg custard ingredients in a shaker.
  5. Divide the cabbage mixture into 12 prepared muffin tins.
  6. Pour the egg custard over the mixture and top with the cheese.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes.
30 thoughts on “Cabbage, Onion and Mushroom Tarts

  1. Hi Mandy, have never seen a little tart cooked like this with the egg custard. I love it! Especially as we´re always looking for new ways to use up our eggs..our hens are in overdrive at the moment. No cabbage here at this time of year, but I could use chard or spinach. Thanks for this one!

  2. These look delightful. I love eggy, tarty, savories for any meal of the day. So perfect with salad, fruit and some bubbly! Yum. Thanks for the great recipe, I would not have thought to use cabbage. I’m going to make them this weekend for our Memorial Day holiday here in the States.

  3. I love unusual combinations of food and your recipe appeals to me on many levels. The most important being it sounds delicious. I really like the way this dish sounds. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Thanks so much Mary, I thoroughly enjoyed these little tarts and will definitely be making them again – a nice weekend lunch with a crispy salad and crusty bread next time around. 🙂

  4. What a vege-ful tart this is, but my type of tart!!:) I am sure it tasted crunchy or even chewy(with the cabbage, onion and mushrooms in it), what a unique combination these make for a tart, and definitely a good break away from the usual suspects of meat, chicken, eggs, and all the unhealthy stuffs:p

  5. Pingback: Ingredient Challenge « Lavender and Lime

  6. Pingback: Ingredient Challenge: Cumin, Onions And Coriander - Lavender and Lime

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

