Milk Loaf

I love eating bread but have only  occasionally tried my hand at making “proper” bread, where you must use yeast and knead it and let is rise.  My bread making is more the quick easy loaves – Guinness Beer Bread and Cheese and Onion Bread.  I tried Linda’s Milk Loaf and as with all new recipes I follow the ingredients and instructions as given, which clearly is not the way to go when making bread.  My first attempt, the mixture was extremely sticky and would not come together for kneading so I had to add more flour.  My second attempt was very successful and it turned out that I only used 320ml of the given 400ml liquid.  It was a wonderful dough to work with.  I am now on the hunt for more “proper” bread recipes and going forward will always add my liquid a little at a time.

Milk Loaf

Taken from Fired Up Cooking SA

Ingredients

3 ½ cups cake flour
5ml salt
10g sachet instant yeast
30ml sugar or syrup
60ml oil or melted butter
200ml warm milk
200ml warm water

1 egg beaten for egg wash
15ml sesame seeds – optional

Method

  1. Mix the dry ingredients.
  2. Stir in the oil/butter and sugar/syrup.
  3. Combine the milk and water and add a little at a time to the dry ingredients until the mixture comes together.
  4. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic and just springs back when you stretch it.
  5. Place the dough in a bowl, cover with a tea towel and leave somewhere warm to rise until at least double in size.
  6. Turn the mixture out again and knead briefly once more.
  7. Divide the dough into three pieces, roll and stretch each piece into a long sausage.
  8. Pinch the three pieces together firmly at one end and plait then plait / braid them together, pinching the other end together as well.
  9. Place the plaited loaf onto a greased baking tray, cover with a clean tea towel and leave to rise until double in size.
  10. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  11. Brush the bred with the egg wash and if using, sprinkle with the sesame seeds.
  12. Bake until the loaf is golden brown and sounds hollow when you tap it.
30 thoughts on “Milk Loaf

  1. bread is tricky as it is so dependent on the weather and the humidity! My bread oven has been my saviour as I could not make bread in winter as our house is too cold 🙂

  2. Thank you Mandy!!!! So glad you tried and liked the recipe.

    Bread-making is definitely an instinctive thing, with experience you will come to ‘know’ when the dough is just right! 🙂

  3. Wow – and I thought you were “new” to bread making. This looks fabulous, will have to give it a go. Am currently in the middle of a bit of experimentation with semolina and flour in search of the ultimate recipe for Moroccan bread. So far, it´s been a messy morning in the kitchen!

  4. Either proper bread or not, as a person who hasn’t made homemade bread wish that this bread was coming right from her oven. When kids are little older, I really want to learn making bread. By then you will be an expert that you would teach me? 🙂

  5. I agree with Tandy, making bread is very tricky… so many things will effect the result. As for me, I prefer to make bread when no one is in the house so there is no distraction. You loaf of bread looks perfect and I wish I can sink my teeth in it:D

  6. Your milk bread looks wonderful and I’m sure it is as delicious as it is appealing. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. Your loaf of bread looks beautiful…I love baking bread…the smell of the bread baking in the oven is priceless. Hope you are having a great week 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Juliana, and I agree, the smell of baking bread is fabulous! You have a beautiful blog – I would love to sign up for your updates but unfortunately Apple Mac does not support RSS Feeds. Please let me know if you add an email subscriptions button, I would love to subscribe for your updates. 🙂

  8. Bread and water, two of the simpler things in life, but when it comes to making bread, I don’t think it’s that simple at all. Your milk loaf looks lovely. I’d like to slather some butter on that right now and just enjoy with a nice cup of tea.

  9. Looks gorgeous! I think there are a lot of chefs out there that dabble in bread making only occasionally–myself included. Although that being said, I’m working on a recipe for tomato parmesan bread.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

