Easy White Bread

After trying my hand at Linda’s bread recipe, I quickly set off scouring the internet for bread recipes and soon realised that I should start with the easy recipes, which resulted in a lot very similar recipes so it was pot luck and I settled on one that I found on NibbleDish and landed up changing it completely! Β Not sure if it was the right thing to do but the loaf turned out very nicely and I will definitely be making it again.

Easy White Bread

Amended from NibbleDish

Ingredients

4 cups flour
10g packet instant yeast
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp oil
1 cup water
ΒΌ cup milk

1 egg beaten for egg wash

Method

  1. Mix 3 cups of the flour with the yeast, sugar and salt.
  2. Add the oil.
  3. Combine the water and milk and heat until warm.
  4. Add the warm liquid to the dry ingredients and mix together.
  5. Using the 4th cup of flour, flour a work surface and turn out the dough.
  6. Knead the dough, adding more of the 4th cup of flour as needed, kneading for 10 minutes until the dough is smooth and elastic.
  7. Place the dough in a bowl, cover with a tea towel and leave somewhere warm to rise until it has doubled in size.
  8. Once risen, punch the dough down and tip out onto the counter and gently roll it out into a rectangle approximately 18cm X 30cm.
  9. Roll it up, tuck in the ends, and place it into a greased loaf tin.
  10. Cover and let rise again until doubled in size.
  11. Preheat the oven to 180Β°C.
  12. Once risen, brush the top with a bit of egg wash and bake for approximately 25 -30 minutes until the loaf is golden brown and sounds hollow when you tap it.
  13. Remove the bread from the pan immediately and place on a rack to cool.

While the bread was still warm, I made myself as super yummy meatball sarmie.

This bread also makes lovely toast.

36 thoughts on “Easy White Bread

  1. Bread is one of those things I want to master. I’m so inspired by you bread making cooks., well done, this one looks great. I bet the hot bread just out of the oven was a lovely homely fragrance – loved my childhood that way as Mom always baked beautiful bread πŸ™‚

    • Anna, thank you for the wonderful compliment but I am very new to bread making. Think it will take quite a while to get to the Celia and Brydie level but I would really like to find the perfect recipe for me – one that I can make every week. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow – the bread making has really taken off! This looks amazing. It starts to get a bit addictive. Am aiming one day to make sourdough bread. HavenΒ΄t got to that “level” myself yet but am working up to it! So – if you donΒ΄t mind me asking, but I see youΒ΄ve mentioned it in your comments – where is “home”? Are you not there now? Maybe I should go back to the beginning of your blog and all will be revealed….!

    • Hi Tanya, I haven’t even thought as adventurously as sour dough yet. πŸ˜‰ Home is Sunday’s River in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. We have been away for two and a half years now on Mauritius and will be heading back home to the cold 😦 on the 28th June, so I am sure to share a lot more hearty recipes when I get settled. πŸ™‚

  3. This looks like a perfect loaf! The recipe is very similar to my recipe πŸ™‚

    Now that you’ve mastered the art of bread making, you can start adding stuff – try grated parmesan & chopped rosemary, shape the dough into rolls and bake at the same temperature. Or increase the sugar slightly, add cinnamon and raisins. Have some fun!

    • Thanks so much Linda. Oh my, not sure I have mastered it yet but I am having loads of fun. Thanks for the fabulous tips, I look forward to trying them out. I will let you know how it goes. πŸ™‚

  4. Bread is one of those things I’ve always relied on my bread maker for, but lately I’ve been attempting various recipes with mixed results. I may have to give this one a shot. It does look wonderful and you can’t beat a homemade white bread.

  5. We all been so taken with whole grain bread we sometimes forget how lovely a plain white loaf can be. This looks delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  6. Oh yes… haha we need to start from basic bread! It looks easy….but I’m always wonder if my dough doesn’t rise. I don’t have any experience and I wouldn’t even know if I’m doing the right thing. Haha. It’ll be my true dream if I can bake a bread and I can bring the warm bread to the dinner table… I just imagine myself in that situation and I can just daydream…. hehe… To be honest, I don’t have time throughout a day to wait around for the dough etc, so I have to wait till kids go to school then maybe it’s my time to dedicate myself for bread making!!! πŸ™‚

    • I had the same worries Nami and I found them to be unwarranted – the biggest step is the first one and what I have learnt is that yeast is much easier and more reliable to work with that what I originally thought. I will be posting a recipe for Dinner Rolls soon which might be a good place for you to start because there is not long waiting time for rising as it contains baking powder and from start to finish, you could have them out of the oven within 45 minutes. πŸ™‚

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

