Sandwich Loaf

I am still experimenting with different bread recipes and even though the recipes have all been very similar, they have all produced a completely different loaf.  This Sandwich Loaf was kneaded on an oiled surface as opposed to a floured surface, which was a first for me and I may have used a little too much oil as my loaf didn’t stay beautifully risen while it was baking – I’m thinking it was a bit heavy with the oil.  Then again, it could just be that I am inexperienced in making bread.  No matter, as it was a lovely soft and moist loaf which made beautiful toast over the coals plus it was equally as nice and fresh the next morning. 🙂

Sandwich Loaf

Recipe from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients

3 cups all purpose flour
2 tbsp sugar
1¼ tsp salt
10g packet instant yeast
4 tbsp melted butter or vegetable oil
½ cup milk *
½ to ⅔ cup hot water *

Method

*Mix the cold-from-the-refrigerator milk with ½ cup of the hot-from-the-tap water to make a lukewarm combination.

  1. In a large bowl, combine all of the ingredients and stir till the dough starts to leave the sides of the bowl.
  2. Transfer the dough to a lightly greased surface, oil your hands, and knead it for 6 to 8 minutes, or until it begins to become smooth and supple.
  3. Transfer the dough to a lightly greased bowl, cover the bowl and allow the dough to rise till puffy though not necessarily doubled in bulk
  4. Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled work surface, and shape it into an 20cm log and place the log in a lightly greased loaf pan, cover the pan loosely with lightly greased plastic wrap and allow the bread to rise until it’s domed about 2cm above the edge of the pan.  A finger pressed into the dough should leave a mark that rebounds slowly.
  5. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  6. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until it’s light golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped. Remove the bread from the loaf tin and cool on a wire rack.
34 thoughts on “Sandwich Loaf

  1. I´m curious about using the oil on the surface. Looks like, from the photos at least, that we have practically identicial marble worktops – so maybe we´ll get the same results if I try it! Just a little tweak in a recipe can completely alter the taste and appearance of a loaf – the proportions of flour/liquid/yeast generally stay much the same. Isn´t bread incredible?!

  2. This is the first time I have ever heard of rolling something out on an oiled surface. Eve though it didn’t rise perfectly it still looks delicious. Bread is such a difficult thing to perfect.

  3. One of these days I’ll figure out how to make bread. I keep trying, but they never turn out quite right. I’m not going to give up though – it’s become too much of a challenge and I have to get one right one of these days. This looks like it tastes great. I also like the idea of kneading it in oil vs. flour. Sounds like it would add some extra flavor. 🙂

    • Kudos to you for not giving up. I am learning that there are so many factors involved in a successful loaf of bread. I am looking forward to when you post a recipe. Wonder which country’s bread you will choose? 🙂

  4. This is a lovely loaf of bread. I’d love to have a slice of it toast this morning. The thought of that with a smear of good butter has set my stomach rumbling. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  5. Agree. That’s the amazing part of making bread. Most of the ingredients are very simple, yet the outcome is so different that it’s fun!! Your sandwich loaf is so moist and looks wonderful! I’m envious – it’s from your oven and nice and warm… I’d love to have that for breakfast. I’m totally enjoying your bread experiment (and looks like it needs patience to get better with bread making)

    • Thanks Nami for enjoying the experience with me. The process of waiting for the dough to rise is definitely a test on my patience – I go back into the kitchen every now and again just to much it has risen – it is really very satisfying to see it rise and great fun to punch it down again. 🙂

    • I know Brydie, I think the bug has bitten me already! As soon as we are home and able to get hold of a larger variety of flours etc, I am looking forward to making more than a white loaf. 🙂

  6. my husband loves a good sandwich and this looks like the perfect bread for it. Moist and Chewy with I am betting a slight buttery sweetness? Sounds delicious!

    • Thanks for the lovely compliment Celia and an extra big thank you for noticing the non listed yeast – I have updated the post. The loaf uses a 10g packet of instant yeast and was included when i made the bread. 😉 I must have been focusing and enjoying a slice too much when writing up the post. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

