Pumpkin Pie

Tandy’s challenge for this week is to make something using pumpkin or squash.  I immediately thought about my Aunt Hilda’s Pumpkin Pie and she was kind enough to share her recipe with me; thanks Aunty Hilda.  I have eaten this delicious pie (in sweet potato version too) for many years at family gatherings but have never made it myself until now.  I only made half of the original recipe and it turned out equally as delicious as the full recipe.

Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients

1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
¼ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ginger
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1 cup cream
100g butter melted
2 cups cooked and mashed pumpkin

Sauce

250ml yellow sugar – I used brown
60ml water
¾ cup milk
2 tbsp cornstarch
25ml butter
1 tsp vanilla essence

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients together.
  3. Add the milk and mix through.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs cream and butter together and then add the pumpkin.
  5. Add this mixture to the flour mixture, combine and pour into a baking dish.
  6. Bake for 1 hour and 50 minutes.

Sauce

  1. Combine the sugar and water in a saucepan.
  2. Heat until caramelised.
  3. Add ½ a cup of the milk while stirring constantly.
  4. Mix the ¼ cup milk with the cornstarch and add to the sugar mixture and stir until thickened.
  5. Remove from the heat and stir in the butter and vanilla essence.
  6. Pour over the pie as soon as it comes out of the oven.
40 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie

  1. I have never eaten pumpkin pie – and now I´m asking myself “why the heck not?!” It looks wonderful, I´m going to have to wait a while to get hold of a pumpkin but I´d lvoe to give this one a go. Are you getting ready for the move? Things must be hectic for you!

    • Oh my, I wish I could post you a pumpkin right away for you to try this fabulous recipe. I believe in the USA you can buy it in cans – imagine that.

      These last three weeks before we leave have certainly picked up pace and with having sold both our cars is proving to be quite a challenge. We have hired one vehicle until we leave, which leaves me stuck at home which I don’t mind but when we need things done, it is a little frustrating. Thankfully we have lovely friends who are helping us with a few necessities like getting our kitties to the state vet to clear them ready and safe for travel and a few other need-to-be-done chores and tasks. 🙂

  2. Oh my. I’ve had pumpkin pie but not Mandy’s version via Aunt Hilda. THIS looks the best pumpkin pie ever. Look at that sauce! I have to bookmark this one. A sweet potato version too? Knockout!

  3. I really like pumpkin pie and you did such a wonderful job with this recipe. Love it. I still love sweet potato pie more, I’m southern what can you do LOL, but this is delicious as well.

  4. I typically don’t like pumpkin pie, but this recipe intrigues me. You see it’s not that I don’t like pumpkin – I love it. But for some reason pumpkin pie just never does it for me. This sounds like a dish I might actually enjoy though. I know what I’ll be trying out this fall…Thanks Mandy!

  5. Pingback: Something Sweet « Lavender and Lime

  6. That’s the most pretty looking pumpkin pie I have ever come across. I have bookmarked this and will give it a try this soon. Wonder if I can replace the butter with yoghurt/ oil?

    You have an amazing repertoire of recipes…

    -Shilpa

    • Hi Shipa, thanks for popping in and thank you for the lovely compliment. 🙂 I am sure you could replace the butter with yoghurt – not sure what it will do do the colour though and why not try apple sauce instead of oil? I would love to hear how it turns out using yoghurt, oil or apple sauce. 🙂

  7. Where is the crust? Looks as if this is a crustless type custard? Soooo different and so YUMMY looking. Can’t wait to try this one….Thanks for the new recipe!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

