Crispy Onion Rings

Onions rings are a great addition to a steak dinner and these never fail and are always crispy.  If you are a teetotaller, you can replace the beer with ice-cold soda water or sparkling spring water.

Crispy Onion Rings

Ingredients

125ml flour
1ml salt
1ml paprika
125ml beer
1 egg white
3 large onions

Oil for deep frying

Method

  1. Peel and cut the onions into 1 cm thick rings.
  2. Mix together all the dry ingredients.
  3. Add the beer and stir through.
  4. Beat the egg white until stiff and fold into the mixture.
  5. Dip the onion rings into the batter and fry in oil until golden brown.


39 thoughts on “Crispy Onion Rings

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Crispy Onion Rings « The Complete Cook Book Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. I love deep fried, and onion rings and fish & chips are no exception. I hear using beer is necessary… I have to try making it on my own. I’m so excited to eat right after deep frying. YUM! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Yep, I officially LOVE LOVE your site. You just said the magic word crispy onion rings. They happen to be our favorite family food! Love your recipes and can’t wait to give it a try!

  4. Resist!Resist!…RESIST!…I know these are just additive! Heart stopping stuff…3 times fried crunchy chips, beer battered onion rings, sirloin steak and green pepper sauce! Say no more! x

  5. I love onion rings, but have never tried the beer batter version before. It sounds really interesting… I will have to keep this in mind next time I cook onion ring 🙂

  6. I love fried onion rings. Every time we visit my mother in law she knows she’s going to make some since I’m scared of deep-frying.
    Yours look so great, wish I’d have a couple right now

  7. I absolutely love onion rings… Have never thought of making my own…Will have to give this a try some day…

    -Shilpa

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

