Easy Buttery Dinner Rolls

Since being on my quest for making bread, I forgot about a recipe I found quite a while back on Sprinkles of Parsley for Easy Buttery Dinner Rolls.  On re-reading the recipe, there are instructions to use a mixer using the paddle attachment and then the dough hook – neither of which I have here on the island so took at chance and made these by hand and they turned out just fine – better than just fine actually, they were delicious.  I also halved the recipe and was unsure if the 1 packet of yeast asked for was a 10g packet so I took a chance on that too, which must have been correct.  Halving the recipe meant that I could place the rolls far apart enough on the baking tray that they did not touch each other, producing perfect rolls.

Easy Buttery Dinner Rolls

These measurements are for the full recipe

Ingredients

2 cups very warm water
10g packet yeast
¼ cup honey
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
4½ – 5½ cups flour
¼ cup butter melted

Method

  1. Combine the water, yeast and honey in a bowl and gently stir until the honey dissolves.
  2. Place the bowl in a warm spot covered with a dry towel for 15 minutes.
  3. After 15 minutes, the mixture should appear slightly foamy.   Add the salt and baking powder and stir until incorporated.
  4. Gradually add a ½ cup of flour at a time and mix until you’ve reached the right consistency (not too sticky and not too dry).
  5. Transfer the dough to a floured surface and knead for 5 minutes.
  6. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  7. Shape the dough into a rectangle and cut into 4 even strips, then cut each strip of dough into 4 even pieces again and shape into balls of dough (16 balls total).  Cut an x into each ball.
  8. Place your balls onto a prepared baking dish.
  9. Brush with the rolls with the melted butter and place in the oven and immediately increase the temperature to 200°C and bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.
  10. Break apart the rolls and serve warm.
60 thoughts on “Easy Buttery Dinner Rolls

  1. Oh the smell of dinner rolls in my home on a Sunday morning is a smell I will never forget. This post definitely brought back memories and your recipe is similar to the one I remember. Nice post.

  2. Spooky, spooky, spooky. Bread Man doesn´t deliver to me today and I got up this morning thinking “I´ll make rolls today instead of a loaf”. I went to my bookshelf and thought I´d look at some of the older books I have for inspiration, pulled this one out http://www.theoxfordteaparty.com/item_1401/Complete-Home-Cookery-Book–1950s-Recipes.htm
    and then thought “This reminds me of Mandy´s Blog”, will send her the link! And then to top it all, here you are today postingabout bread rolls….
    Aren´t you due to move home soon? Hope all is going well 🙂

    • This is a good kind of spooky. ;-D I am heading over right now to have a look at the link – thanks!
      Yip, we fly off the island next Tuesday and arriving home on Wednesday. This week is already VERY busy with all the last minutes goodies that need to be done – I hope to keep up to date with everybody but may have to succumb to being away from my laptop – like tomorrow for example, we are taking our island kitties to the state vet to sign them ready for travel, which means I will only be back in the late afternoon. Will do as much as I can. 🙂 Thanks again for the link. 🙂

  3. I’d love to try these Mandy, its just the thing to go with some yummy soup I’ve made for dinner this evening. Right…., I’m off to the kitchen to make these little numbers, you’ve sold me on the idea & there is nothing nicer than that smell of hot bread right from the oven is there. Thanks for sharing this recipe 🙂

  4. Now this might be a dinner roll recipe I can get my arms around. I’m definitely going to try this one. They look so cute too! I love it!

  5. Nothing beats the smell of freshly baked bread at home….You have shared a recipe that looks easy … have never baked a proper loaf or a bread roll, so will have to give this a go sometime. bookmarked and ready to try…

    -Shilpa

  6. Oh how delicious! I love the idea of brushing melted butter over them, Mandy, it must make the crusts just perfect! I am going to give these a try (when I am off diet, sigh). *saved*

    I like your title, too!!

    • I too don’t enjoy a sweet roll and the honey just enhances the flavour of the rolls. I am sure you could half the quantity and they would be equally as nice. Actually, think I will try that next time I make them. Enjoy. 🙂

  7. I tried making them tonight. I couldn’t get the criss crosses perfect as you did and I even have one of those kitchen razors for that purpose. My baking time was quite longer than 20 minutes too.

    • Hmm, I wonder if the ambient temperature has something to do with it? Did you do a full batch – that may have had something to do with the extra baking time too. Hope they were still enjoyable though. 🙂

  8. I put 1/2 the batch, 8 rolls, in a professional metal baking pan. I made two batches and each time it took quite awhile for them to brown. I have a thermometer in the oven so I know the temperature was accurate. They were a hit for dinner, but I think I will enjoy them better today. I think I was overcome by the aroma!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

