Creamed Spinach Soup

No sure how I managed to miss sharing this recipe with you a month ago when I was sharing all my other soup recipes.  Spinach soup reminds me of when I was a young girl when we staying in a hotel for a while after my Dad was relocated with business and we had not yet found a new home –  I still have a vivid memory of the soup bowls being brought on big trays to the guests.  Back to today and my version of Creamed Spinach Soup.

Creamed Spinach Soup

Ingredients

45ml butter
45ml flour
2 cups milk
2 cups vegetable stock
5ml salt
Dash cayenne pepper to taste
5ml grated onion
2 cups finely chopped spinach
Squeeze of lemon juice

Method

  1. In a pot melt the butter over a medium heat and add the flour and stir until smooth.
  2. Whisk in the milk then stir in the stock, salt and as much cayenne pepper as you like.
  3. Continue stirring while the liquid warms, but do not allow to boil.
  4. Stir in the grated onion and the shredded spinach and simmer gently for 15 – 20 minutes.
  5. Add the lemon juice and stir through.


46 thoughts on “Creamed Spinach Soup

  1. This recipe looks fresh and delicious! I adore soups and have never tried spinach soup before so I’m really pleased to have found this recipe, thank you. I’ve also seen your pumpkin pie recipe and it looks fantastic I’ve never had that before either so I can’t wait to try it !

  2. Its perfect soup weather here. Im not a spinach fan, although this here might be worth me trying. I just haven’t found a way to mask the flavor of the spinach. Yours looks lovely. Hope your having a good week. 🙂

    • Thanks Anna – hmm, I’m not sure you can mask the flavour here but it really is a lovely tasting soup – so hope you give it a try. Can’t believe I am saying this to you, a chef, but maybe try baby spinach – it may have a “lighter’ spinach flavour. 🙂

    • Hi Molly, I did a post here on all the conversions plus they are all in the Kitchen Guide I have just emailed to you to help for future recipes. I have listed in brackets the conversions for this recipe. Let me know if you need any more help. 🙂
      45ml (3tbsp)butter
      45ml (3tbsp) flour
      2 cups (500ml) milk
      2 cups (500ml) vegetable stock
      5ml (1tsp) salt
      Dash cayenne pepper to taste
      5ml (1tsp) grated onion
      2 cups (500ml) finely chopped spinach

  3. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyways, awesome site!

  4. My mother made spinach soup and unfortunately passed before I was able to write down her recipe. I only remember that it had sour cream, vinegar and chopped hard boiled eggs in it. Have never been able to find the recipe on any site. It was one of my favorites and if anyone has this recipe I would be so very grateful

    • Hi Doris, what a pit you weren’t able to get your mom’s recipe. I wonder if you have any of her old recipe books – could it possibly be in one of them. It might not be a recipe that made it’s way onto the web. I do hope that you are able to find it or alternatively be able to try and recreate it from taste and using the ingredients you know where in the recipe. Sorry I can’t be of more help than that. Have a super weekend ahead. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Creamed Spinach Soup - Urban Angels

  6. Pingback: Creamed Spinach Soup - Urban Angels

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

