A Semi Sabbatical of Sorts

A lot of you would have read somewhere along the line that our time in Mauritius has come to and end and of our heading back home to South Africa.

Sundays River

We are currently (while you are reading this) on the second leg of our journey and are due to land at Port Elizabeth airport shortly, where we will retrieve our luggage and head home to Sundays River eagerly awaiting the arrival of our Mauritius kitties to welcome them home and to introduce them to their new South African kitty Mom who I have missed beyond distraction the last 2 and a half years.

Further to our being away for an extended period of time, has left our home in need of some much needed TLC and repair.

I will therefore be taking the next week or two to get myself, our kitties and our home settled. Β I will check in every now and again to stay in touch with you all and look forward to bringing you recipes with what will be “new” produce for me – fresh fruit, vegetables, herbs and meat that I have not been able to purchase whilst on the island. Β Not sure where I will begin – maybe Woolies fresh milk, yes, that will be the first thing in my trolly. πŸ˜€ Β I have promised myself an entire morning to browse the shelves I have so missed.

Looking forward to reconnecting with you all soon again.

πŸ™‚ Mandy

52 thoughts on “A Semi Sabbatical of Sorts

    • Hi Elke, thank you so much. We are back at the airport flying out to a family wedding in the Midlands, Natal. I am looking forward to being able to reconnect with everybody when I am back home. πŸ™‚ xo

    • Thanks Tandy – good to be on home soil again but shew it is FREEZING! Off to a family wedding – a big surprise for the groom. Looking forward to catching up soon again. πŸ™‚ xo

    • Thanks Cindy – really good to be back, even though he have hit the ground running. Think it will take me a few more days than I had anticipated to get back up and running though. I am missing not reading everybody’s posts. Hope I don’t miss out on too much. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks very much Yumy – I am really looking forward to getting my hands on some produce that I have been unable to get hold of the last couple of years. πŸ™‚ Will post some recipes soon. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Joyti – thank you very much. The kitties are settling in perfectly so far – even though I have not introduced them to our our cat yet – I will do that early next week. I am sure it will all be fine. Looking forward to reconnecting with you once we are settled. πŸ™‚

  1. What a wonderful feeling of settling back into your homely routine. Look forward to all those delicious surprises you have in stall for us…Have fun shopping! xx

    • Thanks so much Yvette – I am looking foward to being able to experiment in the kitchen again – I think I will find a big change in the things available on the shelves so watch this space. πŸ™‚

  2. Welcome home, Mandy! Sundays River ~ what a lovely name. I would love for you to share pics of your town. And maybe those kitties too. : )

    • Thanks so much! Just as soon as I can get to taking a few photos I will post them for you. I should try and do a few instalments of the local eateries in the area too – not that there are that many. I am looking forward to sharing my home with you. πŸ™‚

  3. How exciting and exhausting the next few days will be for you. I hope all goes well and that you find your home in not too much need of TLC. Hope the kitties all settle in together and that the wander round the shops is fun! Take care, Tanya

    • Tanya, thank you! It is proving to be quite a challenge with everything that needs to be sorted out – quite a story being away for such a long time – everything will be taken care of all in good time though. Missing your posts – and looking forward to connecting soon again. πŸ™‚

  4. Good luck on the journey Mandy! And good luck settling back in. I can’t wait to see what you cook up from your home kitchen that I have no doubt will be full of produce! Enjoy reconnecting with your kitty too. I can’t imagine not seeing my baby kitty for 2-1/2 years! Have a great time!

    • Thanks so much Kristy. We are still trying to find our feet at the moment – being away from home for such a long time is proving to be quite challenging. We are getting more settled but finding a few more things that need attention as we go along. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much! It is great being home albeit that there are quite a few things that need attention all at once – Rome wasn’t built in a day they say – so we are taking each day as it comes and hopefully we will be back on track in a week or so. πŸ™‚

  5. Both a sad and happy time I imagine. I hope you rattle through those jobs and settle back down. Looking forward to your next update. x

    • Thanks Laura – there are quite a few tasks and chores and repairs that are on the list to be taken care – the downside of not maintaining a home for such a long period of time. I am looking forward to reading your posts soon again. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks very much Sweetlife. There is no resting at the moment unfortunately – I want to get everything sorted as soon as possible so that I can connect with you all again. πŸ™‚

  6. Have a safe trip back home…I look forward to seeing more of your wonderful creations…

    –Shilpa

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

