Settling In

I know I seem to be complaining about the cold at the moment – sorry but it is taking quite a lot to adjust to. Β Here is a picture taken from our front door the other morning and I am sure it was close to the minus figures in temperature, well probably not but it felt that way.

Things seem to be taking quite a bit longer than we initially anticipated but we are getting there and home is starting to feel like home again. πŸ™‚ Β We are down to 483 million items on the “To Do” list – oh, and that excludes the garden.

Sadly, my stove top is not working nicely either so we are in the process of seeing if we need new switches or plates and getting prices for replacement parts – thankfully my mom is still here and looking after our dinners. Β The most I have cooked so far is a bacon and egg breakfast and chicken livers for lunch. πŸ™‚

A crumbed piece of chicken breast that resembles the map of Africa

A huge thank you to my friend Cindy over at The Only CinΒ who gave me the most wonderful advice of scattering our kitties litter in the garden to prevent them straying and it worked beautifully! Β Our fur children still go walk about Β but don’t venture too far and come home very happy after exploring and our other cat seems to be tolerating them a little more each day too.

I had a quick walk through a couple of stores while we were out replacing our vacuum cleaner and a few other necessity items the other day and I was amazed at how much is available on the shelves. Β I had forgotten that there was so much to choose between and I am still looking forward to my aisle for aisle walk through in Woolies – I have been holding back until we get properly settled so that I can come straight home to the kitchen with my purchases to get creative.

I promise to get back to reading all your blogs this week. Β I hope I haven’t missed too much!

Have a happy week.

42 thoughts on “Settling In

  1. It’s cold, I totally understand your complaints about that. It’s almost the first thing I speak about each new conversation. 😦 Glad the kitties are settling into their new home, and thats a nifty piece of chicken. πŸ™‚

  2. living so close to the sea I have to replace my stove plates every couple of years! Hope you get your Woolies shopping scheduled soon πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tandy – coming back to solid plates from using gas the past couple of years was the first big adjustment – I forgot how long they take to warm up and cool down again. I just realised I haven’t even switched the oven on yet – best I go and check. I can hear Woolies calling me! πŸ™‚ xo

  3. I really started to miss you, Mandy. Glad you are settling in and back blogging πŸ™‚ It must be a hectic week for you to get everything back on normal.

  4. Nice to hear you’re settling in..we’re all in the same boat I think, not enough time to catch up with everyone myself at the moment.x

    • Hi Angie – oh yes, I agree, kittens are just adorable. All 3 of mine slept with me on the bed last night. Think they knew I needed extra warmth as my hubby is away on business for the week. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh I have never heard of doing that with your kitty litter – what a great idea. Sure wish it worked for dogs- my dog wanders and wanders! LOL! The chicken liver sounds great and I know you will be back to cooking in no time! Can’t wait to see what recipes you have in store for us! Glad you are back!

    • Can’t believe I never thought of the litter scattering either. The chicken livers were scrumptious and so easy – pan fry in a little olive oil and butter add garlic, brandy and flambΓ© and voilΓ  so easy – I was thinking about swirling some cream in too – next time. πŸ™‚

  6. That chicken definitely looks like Africa, too funny! Sorry about the cold weather–it’s finally warming up here in California, so it’s been in the 80s/90s recently. Sorry. 😦 haha. Welcome back!

  7. Hi Mandy! Glad to hear you’re settling in a bit more. I’m sure it will feel like home again soon. What a great idea for your cats! Ours have always been indoor little kitties…nowhere for them to roam in the city. πŸ™‚ And I’m glad to hear the elder kitty is adjusting to life with his new friends as well. Good luck with your stove and hopefully the cold will fill less cold soon. Although I’ve lived in a cold winter climate for nearly all of my life and I’m still not used to it.

    • Hi Kristy. I was amazed at how well the litter scattering worked! The two babies are sitting with me here now asking for their dinner. πŸ˜‰ I have never “warmed” to winter either. πŸ™‚

  8. Life is one adventure after another…glad to see you are settling in..before long you will thinking…’what was all the fuss about’! πŸ™‚

  9. I’m glad you’re back. I hope you survive the cold down there. Just to make you a little jealous, it’s so hot here!!!! πŸ˜›

  10. Oooh… I got a chill thinking of your temperature! Stay warm, settle in and as soon as you can, fill your kitchen with warm, comforting food aromas and you will soon feel like home sweet home!!

  11. hope the weather warms up a little bit. here we are complaining about the high temperatures.
    glad to hear everything is starting to get back to normal, including the kiddies.
    take care Mandy!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

