Vanilla Poached Pears with Orange Zest

We are still being spoilt by my Mom who is cooking us the most wonderful meals and desserts.  Pete was away on business last week and Dad had returned home to Johannesburg so it was just Mom and I.  I was having my normal day of doing a 101 things and had left the decision of what we were going to eat up to Mom.  After a long day and a warm soothing bath, I popped over to Mom for supper.  What a fabulous treat!  Firstly, I was handed a gin and tonic at the door.  Talk about service!🙂  How can you have a bad night when it starts like that?  Then the smell – the most wonderful full bodied pork/bacon heaven hit my nasal passages. Mom was roasting a pork fillet wrapped in smokey bacon (think it’s called an armadillo) which she served with creamy mashed potatoes, buttery steamed brussel sprouts, roasted pears and gravy and if that wasn’t enough, keeping with the pears portion of the theme, presented me with a oh so yummy pudding of vanilla poached pears with orange zest (and just for good measure) some cream on the side.😀  F A B U L O U S !

Vanilla poached pears with orange zest

Ingredients

4 pears peeled and halved lengthways
45ml sugar
¾ cup water
10ml vanilla extract
5ml orange zest
Cream for serving

Method

  1. Place the pears, sugar, water and vanilla extract in a pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce the heat and simmer until the pears are tender.
  3. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.
  4. Remove the pears and plate 2 per portion.
  5. Stir through the orange zest into the syrup and pour over the pears.
  6. Serve with cream.

37 thoughts on “Vanilla Poached Pears with Orange Zest

  1. Now I know where you get your great cooking skills from!🙂 I’ve never tried poached pears before but can you use any kind of pears? There’s quite a few varieties here so I was just wondering if it’ll make a difference.

    • Hi Peachie, thanks for the lovely compliment. You can use any pear variety and different pears will take different times to cook – the harder the pear, the longer the cooking time. Have a happy weekend.🙂

  2. I agree with the previous poster: your cooking skills are genetic. Unlike so many other recipes, here the pears’ flavor aren’t overpowered by the poaching liquid. Yum!

  3. I always think about doing poached fruit but never get around to it. My longing for cookies and ice cream get in the way:) This sounds seriously amazing and I must try it- I am going to tell myself that all day so that maybe I will make it tonight

  4. –Your Mum Is SOooooo Smashing🙂
    I love mamas. A gin & tonic. YES! She is a hostess with the mostess.
    “The wonderful full bodied pork/bacon heaven hit my nasal passages”
    I smell it, Mandy….all the way in MN xxxxxx

  5. You are being spoilt, and I’m so happy to hear it! I can just imagine how nice it must be for your folks to have you home after so long – I know I’d be beside myself with joy if my boys came home after an extended time away. Lovely stuff, thanks Mandy! Have a great weekend!🙂

  6. I agree bacon smell is so addictive specially in the morning its a good alarm clock, once you smell it then you just wanna wake up. And that pear looks like a good pair for a really crunchy bacon

  7. Oh I can see you are a much loved girl!! You’re lucky to have a mom to spoil you. Her food sounds divine. I’ve never tried making poached pears, thank you for sharing your mom’s recipe🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

