Our Fig Tree

Our fig tree is standing bare and somewhat lifeless at the moment, which is expected for this time of year.

We originally received a slip taken from one of my Dad’s colleagues trees in Johannesburg which he sent for us with the hopes that it will survive – it did and has grown into a very healthy tree.  Thanks John.

We kept the slip in a pot until it got acclimatised and settled to the new environment  however never quite got around to planting it.

Anthony, a very close friend of Pete’s unexpectedly passed away a few years back and a while later, his brother Rob was visiting with us and it was decided that the boys would plant the fig tree in remembrance of Anthony.  It grew very quickly into a sturdy tree and produces the most wonderfully sweet and juicy fruit.

It has been far too cold to work in my office which is at the back of the house where the sun’s warmth just does not seem to penetrate so I have temporarily moved into the dining room where it is lovely and sunny.  I enjoy watching the garden birds feed from the little house Pete made hanging from a branch on Anthony’s fig tree and listening to their tweets and chatters.  It’s hard to believe that in a few months it will be hanging heavy with fruit again and I will have to grapple the birds to get to the fruit before they peck though them all.  I do love standing in the shade of the tree eating the figs until my belly feels like it is going to pop.  What a wonderful summer lunch. 🙂

While Dad was visiting a couple of weeks ago, he bought a pack of imported figs from Israel as a treat for Mom and I – they were yummy but nowhere near as sweet and juicy as ours – it did however leave me willing the time away so I can once again enjoy the fruit from our lovely tree – in the interim, pop over to Rufus’ Food and Spirit Guide and enjoy Greg’s recipe for the only fig tart recipe you will ever need.

66 thoughts on “Our Fig Tree

  1. That does it…I need to try a fig. After all of these delicious and tempting posts I read and now seeing your cute little tree and reading your scrumptious descriptions…I will try one!

    • Kim, oh no – you have to have a fig soon! I haven’t baked much with the figs on our tree yet because we have been away for a couple of years – will rectify that just as soon as I have some fruit ready and can stop myself from eating them straight from the tree. Have a happy day. 🙂

  2. It´s been a morning of coincidences as last night we picked our first bowl of figs and I headed over to Greg´s site to check out the fig tart recipe (need to go and buy a few ingredients) and now here you are posting about figs! Just think, when you´re enjoying your figs, we´ll be huddled up in front of the fire 🙂

  3. Such a nice way to remember Anthony and how lucky to have fresh figs in your yard! Our Winters are too severe for fig trees to survive but how I wish one could.

  4. I love the planting of a tree for a lost friend. My family has trees all over the world as remembrances too. And I love that it is a fig as I am going to plant two or three here next year. Have just discovered that I can. Oh and Mandy there are no spiders in my post today.. safe to visit! c

  5. I have 2 apple trees and they give me so much happiness and pleasure. I just like to look at them, and the fact that they actually give such lovely fruit is icing on the cake 😀
    *kisses* HH

  6. I would love to have a fig tree, and would most definitely sit there eating them all day like you described. Can’t wait to see what you decide to make with them when they grow back! I agree, that was a great fig tart Greg posted.

  7. A couple of weeks ago I was in Italy, and just doing that, standing by the fig tree and enjoying fresh juicy figs. No body really eats them in the family, so I could of had all the ripe ones just for me. Note: I did stop after three. But I was a contented girl! x

  8. I always envy when someone has fruit trees in their backyard. I’ve got oranges, lemons, peaches, (unfortunately not figs – I wish!)…. we have nothing!! Maybe I should plant them on my own…never thought of the idea (how long it takes to grow???). I’m going to check Greg’s site. Love fig desserts!

    • They really are fabulous trees Joshua. In hindsight, it could have been planted elsewhere in the garden where we would not have to keep pruning it to prevent it growing into our dining room and garage. Have a happy day. 🙂

  9. Hello from Virginia Mandy! The summer heat is starting to slowly lose it’s grip on our days and the evenings are becoming cooler. Our tomatoes are producing the last of the fruits and soon the trees will start to change to orange, red and a lifeless brown. Just love your blog and your descriptive writing. Figs are so wonderful and to have them in the front yard would be fantastic! Hope you have a wonderful crop this year. Looks like Hurricane Irene will slip by the eastern shore of the US this weekend. I went out last night and picked all the tomatoes that we close to being ripe so they don’t get blown away! Have a great dayand stay warm.

    • Welcome and thanks for stopping by. The best idea I have for now is to stop by Greg’s blog and have a look at his recipe. For the most part I usually eat them fresh. I will endeavour to think up a few ideas when they are hanging ripe and ready on the tree – maybe something along the lines of baked with liquor of sorts. Have a happy day. 🙂

  10. What a lovely post. I so enjoyed reading this and the whole story behind the fig tree. I would love to have a fig tree, actually didn’t even consider I could grow one. My father spoke about his when living in Sicily. I’m hoping you have fig filled tree very soon!

  11. So great you have a tree straight out front. I’m so envious. Can’t wait to see what you cook up this year from your fig crop. 🙂 Hope you had a fabulous weekend. 🙂

  12. What a beautiful remembrance. I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never eaten a fig that wasn’t processed into a cookie. I know I’m missing out, aren’t I?

    • Oh I do hope you can find a fresh fig to try – they are absolutely wonderful fresh – beautifully soft and sweet and can almost have the sensation of caviar popping in your mouth with the seeds – if that doesn’t sound off putting. Just the texture of caviar not the flavour. Have a happy week. 🙂

  13. That is so awesome having a fig tree. I once made fig cookies with some fresh ones I got from my local middle eastern store. A version of “Fig Newtons.”

    I planted two cherry (my favorite fruit in pies) trees in my yard 5 years ago. While they are mature now they don’t bear any fruit. So sad!

    • I would love you to share your fig cookie recipe, they sound fabulous.
      Shame, it is really sad about your cherry tree – maybe they are like olive trees and only produce fruit in the 7th year – or something like that.
      Have a happy day. 🙂

  14. I wish I had a fig tree!
    I was just at a baby shower this past weekend and they had a treat straight off their tree which consisted of fig, goat cheese and basil on a crostini and then a little bit of honey truffle oil drizzled over top. Yum! Ate way more than I should have

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

