In my Kitchen September 2011

For the longest while I have wanted to take part in the fun of Celia’s “In My Kitchen” posts and promised that when we were home and settled that I would start, so without further ado, I present you with…

In My Kitchen – September 2011

In my kitchen…

are my 2 favourite knives that I bought in Mauritius at Store 2000 – the cheapest knives I have ever bought and they work beautifully – they have the thinnest of blades and I am quite sorry that I never bought more.

In my kitchen…

is this lovely Carrol Boyce cork screw which I was lucky to get from my BIL and SIL on a recent visit to Plett who were doing a clear out of their bar.

In my kitchen…

is my ever loved cake tester – the best I have ever owned.  It is a double pointed knitting needle and if memory serves, my Nana also used one to test her cakes.

In my kitchen…

are these fun corn holders which make eating corn on the cobb must easier and less messy.

In my kitchen…

is my Chef’s torch which Mom borrowed over Christmas and forgot about it in her cupboard – best I get cracking and make a Crème Brûlée.

In my kichen…

are these yummy humbug sweeties from Pete’s nephew’s wedding.

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

54 thoughts on “In my Kitchen September 2011

    • Amanda, these knives were so cheap that I could easily have bought a few of each! I might have to commission a friend who still lives on the island to get a couple more for me. Have a happy weekend. 🙂

  1. Mandy, how fab to finally see what’s going on in your kitchen!! Thanks for the linky! That corkscrew is quite beautiful – does it work well? I can’t get a cork out without a lever to pull against..

    Isn’t it great when you find a really good knife? Sometimes the thin-bladed cheap Chinese ones work a treat – although I think you could soon sharpen them into nothing.. 😉

    • Celia, I am thrilled to FINALLY be joining in the fun! The shape of the handle on the cork screw works really well for a good grip which does make it easier than you would think.
      I use my knives every day and have yet to sharpen either of them 😮 – I really am sorry I don’t have a couple spare though – just in case.
      Have a happy weekend. 🙂

  2. —Mandy,
    I loved looking at the things in your kitchen 🙂 how fun.
    I too, have a Crème Brûlée torch, which I have used several times. Everytime I have an event, I make C. B. & it actually turns out! Soooooooo Good. xx

  3. Good to have a “poke around” your kicthen! I never thought of using a double ended knitting needle to test cakes with – brilliant idea. I have similar corn on the cob holders too…

  4. Wonderful things in your kitchen for September,Mandy. I’ve never bought corn holders, it probably would be a more practical way of holding onto the corn…but its always fun with buttered fingertips!! I can’t remember the last time I ate a humbug, these are a wonderful rainbow colour…the one thing I have been wanting to buy for some time now is a chef’s torch…a great array of kitchen things. Happy Cooking, and have a great weekend.yvette x

  5. Aren’t the cob holders the best? Once you buy your first set, you wonder why you hadn’t bought them ages before. And as far as knives go, cheap or expensive, a good knife is as important to a kitchen as a good frying pan. Enjoy your weekend.

  6. Lovely, as chica says, to have a poke around in your kitchen and all your choices are so USABLE!. with a sweet note to end.. We have piles of corn cob holders over this way as corn seems to be a staple vegetable here. So if you need anymore just give me a shout! c

  7. Oh! I love the torch! I need one of those. That would be perfect for our baked spicy salmon sushi roll. I’m definitely picking one up before New Year’s this year. And that corkscrew is beautiful! So far…I love your kitchen!

  8. I swear we used to have (or still have) those corn on the cob holders! too cute. Also, this reminds me that I need to make use of our torch. I’ve been itching to make creme brulee, so that would put the torch to good use!

  9. Are your knives Kiwis? I have a bunch that are so similar, light and so sharp. And, how great are the chefs torches? I don’t use mine very often, but dang I love having it in my kitchen. Certainly looks like you’ve got a fantastic bunch of goodies to work with. 🙂

    • Anna, yes, they are Kiwis! They are the BESTEST EVER! I honestly have never come across sharper knives! Why, oh why did I not buy more while we were in Mauritius! Seems we are all quite guilty of only using our chefs torches on the odd occasion. Have a happy Sunday. 🙂 xo

    • Hi Linda, thanks. It seems these little corn holders are quite popular. Another favourite of mine when eating mielies is to butter a slice of bread and roll the mielie around the slice of bread to get it all buttered – so much easier than trying to butter the mielie with a knife. Have a happy evening and good week ahead. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

