Moms Fish Pie

Yep, this is yet another wonderful meal cooked by Mom, and this time I wrote down the recipe to share with you all.  This is wonderfully rich and comforting meal all wrapped up in one dish – I highly recommend that you make it ASAP.  Sorry about the picture quality – it does not do Moms food justice – one day though I will have a “real” camera and take much better shots, promise.

Moms Fish Pie

Ingredients

4 medium potatoes – peeled and chopped
Butter, milk, salt and pepper to taste
500ml milk
1 garlic clove crushed
60ml butter
60ml flour
2 x 25g sachets fish stock concentrate – Mom used Ina Paarman’s
120g salmon cut into 1 inch cubes – reserve any skin and bones
120g kingklip cut into 1 inch cubes- reserve any skin and bones
50g haddock cut into 1 inch cubes – reserve any skin and bones
30ml chives chopped
30ml parsley chopped
Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Boil the potatoes until tender, drain,mash and add butter, milk, salt and pepper to taste.
  2. In a pot, bring the milk, garlic and any skin and bones to a boil and simmer for a few minutes.  Strain and set aside.
  3. Melt the butter in a pot and add the butter to form a roux and add the strained milk and stir until thickened.
  4. Add the fish stock conentrate and add additional salt and pepper if required.
  5. Stir in the fish and herbs and place in a baking dish.
  6. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  7. Spoon or pipe the mashed potato over the fish and bake for 30 to 35 minutes until the fish has cooked through.
Mom on ocassion will top the fish with puff pastry instead of mashed potatoes.
52 thoughts on “Moms Fish Pie

  1. I’ve never tried fish pie but your Mom’s recipe sure does sound delicious, Mandy. I think I’ll give it a try on some Fall evening in the not too distant future. That will give me some time to brush up on my piping skills. Enjoy the day!

  2. Interesting, very very interesting I say with my hand on my mouth and my brain just a churning trying to figure out if I have time to make this later this week. We have tons of fish in our freezer and this looks like such a comforting meal!

    • Hi Kim. I speak to my Mom almost every day – even if just via BlackBerry Messenger so always feel close to her. Plus I count sleeps until I will see her and my Dad again. Have a happy day too. 🙂 xo

  3. I’ve never had a fish pie before. Any possibility your mom can come up north and make me one? LOL. I’m going to keep this recipe on file for the winter. We’re trying to have a fish meal once a week and I know I’m going to need some options this fall/winter. Thanks Mandy! (And thanks to your mom!)

    • Now, let me get on the phone to Mom to see when she can fly out – please can I come too? This really is a great recipe Kristy and I am sure even Mr N and Miss A might even approve. Have a happy day. 🙂

  4. I am a vegetarian but still your fish pie looks beautiful to me…Recipes passed down to generations are so precious….they need to be preserved, eaten often and then passed on with stories to the next generation…beautifully written too..

  5. Mandy, what a neat idea. And, in pie form, my kids would be more apt to eat all of these health building fish! That’s so great that you’re sharing a recipe from your mom. Love that.

  6. I love fish and I love pie but have never had a fish pie before – I must rectify that. Think I’d prefer the puff pastry top (love my puff pastry). Aren’t all Mums cooking the best?

  7. I’m sure this was delectable! I’d actually never heard of fish pie until I was watching an episode of a show called ‘Whites’ on Hulu last week and there was a joke about it. Mom’s cooking is always the best. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

