Buttermilk Rusks

It just so happens that the next Hilton Little recipe I wanted to try was Buttermilk Rusks – I will do something savoury next, I promise.  The reason I wanted to try these buttermilk rusks is because you heat the butter, sugar, salt and buttermilk together and keep the mixture warm, which sounded interesting.  Turns out it was lovely to work with but not sure there was much difference with the end result.  They are still yummy though.

Buttermilk Rusks

Taken From Bon Appetit, Mr President

Ingredients

250g butter
120g (just over ½ cup) white sugar
10ml (2 tsp) salt
500ml (2 cups) buttermilk
1 kg self-raising flour
5ml (1 tsp) baking powder
2 large eggs, beaten

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190°C (275°F).
  2. In a large saucepan, melt the butter over low heat, and then add the sugar, salt and buttermilk, mixing well.  Keep the mixture lukewarm.
  3. In a mixing bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder.
  4. Add the eggs to the lukewarm buttermilk mixture, and then stir the mixture into the flour until blended.
  5. Knead lightly.  Roll the dough into balls and pack them close together in two greased loaf tins.
  6. Bake immediately for about 30 minutes.
  7. Cool slightly, break into pieces and dry out in a cool oven at 100°C (200°F) for about 12 hours.
  8. The rusks should be very dry and hard.
50 thoughts on “Buttermilk Rusks

  1. Once again you share a recipe for something I would have never come across in my everyday life. Today it’s rusks, I can’t wait for tomorrow’s lesson. Thanks!

  2. I love the idea of heating the sugar and buttermilk first before the flour. It sounds different, interesting and fun! I love the look of the rusks and love the lessons I continue to learn from you! Love them

  3. Your rusks look lovely and light-textured, Mandy. I also find buttermilk rusks can be a little bland – next time try adding a Tbsp or 2 of aniseed. That’s my favourite!! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  4. I am not specifically familiar with rusks – but I am a big fan of buttermilk and have to say that these little delectables look light, airy and extremely moist.

    • I forgot that rusks are a South African thing – I should have put a description in. 🙂 This recipe is great, except I thought that vanilla extract was missing from the overall flavour so suggest you add 5ml of that. Have a happy day and I would love to hear how you enjoy them. 🙂

  5. Rusk is really popular right now in Japan…every bakery is making their original rusks and some friends have brought them when they visit me. I never thought of making them at home. I just read comment above – it’s South African thing?? Wow I didn’t know that.

  6. I’ve only recently learned what rusks are. They are very popular amongst Indian people, they love to have them with their tea. I’m more of a cookie girl, but I love learning about these unique desserts 😀
    *kisses* HH

    • I seem to go through phases of what I like or feel like so always chop and change what I have on hand to munch on – although don’t think it is a good idea for the waistline! Oh well. Have a happy day. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

