Mediterranean Tartlets

I’d rather you don’t but judge me if you must; I do not make puff pastry, I honestly don’t think it is worth the effort when there are lovely brands available in store and I always have one or two rolls of puff pastry in the freezer, just waiting to be turned into something tasty. Β Puff pastry can transform an ordinary dish into an extraordinary one. Β I got the idea for these wonderful tratlets from the Baked and Delicious magazine and they will be making a regular appearance on our lunch menu – think next round will be a chicken liver and onion variation.

Mediterranean Tartlets

As ameneded from Baked and Delicious

Ingredients

400g packet puff pastry defrosted
16 anchovies
Half round of feta crumbled
16 roma tomatoes quarted
8 slices streaky bacon cut in half
Vegetable / Italian spice
Olive oil for drizzling
1 egg beaten

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200Β°C.
  2. Roll out the pastry and cut into 4 pieces and place on a greased baking sheet , leaving a small gap between each one.
  3. Use a sharp knife to mark a 1cm border around each piece of pastry, taking care not to cut right through the pastry.
  4. Arrange all of the ingredients on the 4 pieces of pastry and sprinkle with the spice and olive oil.
  5. Brush the edges of the tarts with the egg and bake for 20 minutes.
A nice addition would be some basil pesto spread onto the pastry before adding all of the other ingredients. πŸ™‚
56 thoughts on “Mediterranean Tartlets

  1. These look awesome. Lots of professionals don’t make puff pastry, I don’t either. I’ve only ever heard the top shop bought brands being praised, so… don’t feel bad πŸ˜€

  2. I donΒ΄t think many people do make puff pastry – I certainly donΒ΄t! I often make something similar to this too – itΒ΄s great as you can just vary the toppings to suit what you have. Yum!

  3. Puff pastry is one item where the store-bought version is a very good alternative to homemade — and such a time saver. This tart looks delicious, made even more so knowing that you’ve included anchovies. Great recipe!

  4. I love this tart! I was just telling Mike yesterday that I think the secret to managing my lunches during the week is going to be Mid-Eastern cooking and Mediterranean cooking. Looks like this one will be making my plan. πŸ™‚ Thanks Mandy!

  5. I LOVE the flavors going on in here. Yes, puff pastry is a pain! I do make my own from scratch, but that’s because the one at my grocery store is made from shortening and I don’t like the way it tastes. But if there were any all butter kinds I would buy it!

    • Hi Joanne – kudos to you on making your own puff pastry. Not sure I would really have the patience for it all. Would be great if I could send you a couple of the brands I have here for you to test. Have a happy weekend. πŸ™‚

  6. Puff pastry from scratch….no way!! I’m with you, its just not worth it, but this tart is definitely worth making!! I love that you used anchovies and the mix with the tomatoes and feta sounds awesome!!

  7. It’s Australian Rules Football Grand Final day, today. I reckon I might make up a batch of these to see us into the first quarter.

    Whilst I love making my own pastry, puff pastry sheets are nonetheless a must-have in the freezer.

  8. There’s something about the combination of bacon, tomato and feta that speaks very loudly to me πŸ™‚ This looks an sounds absolutely delish Mandy!

  9. Hey I don’t judge- I feel the same way you do. Not enough time in the day to make your own puff pastry for it to turn out any better than the store-bought kind! Love this tarlet. So beautiful and delicious

  10. I love the baking part as much as putting the savory dishes together, but, as I cook for a living, time, energy and motivation for baking at home is not present as often as I would like for it to be…I think those pastries look perfectly usable, as well as appetizing. Great looking recipe.
    Bless You

    ( I don’t think anyone would judge you except maybe Gordon Ramsay, and he’s still busy reading all of Cindy’s fan mail)

    lol, I know she is going to pop my head for that remark…oh well, wouldn’t be the first time I was beat up.
    paul

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

