Sweet Potato Pie

Since sharing the Pumpkin Pie recipe while we were still living in Mauritius, I have been itching for the opportunity to make the sweet potato version – it just doesn’t warrant making it for 2 of us, even if I halve the recipe – however, having bought the most wonderful sweet potatoes from our local farmer man, I thought it high time to get cracking with this pie and made a couple of amendments along the way which were very positively received by friends and my Pete. πŸ˜€

Sweet Potato Pie

Ingredients

1 cup flour
1 cup brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
ΒΌ tsp nutmeg
Β½ tsp cinnamon
Β½ tsp ginger
1Β½ cups milk
2 eggs
100g butter melted
2 cups cooked and mashed sweet potato

Sauce

ΒΎ cupΒ yellow sugar – I used brown
4 tbsp water
ΒΎ cup milk
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tbsp butter
2 tsp vanilla essence

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180Β°C.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients together.
  3. Add the milk and mix through.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs cream and butter together and then add the pumpkin.
  5. Add this mixture to the flour mixture, combine and pour into a baking dish.
  6. Bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes.

Sauce

  1. Combine the sugar and water in a saucepan.
  2. Heat until caramelised.
  3. AddΒ Β½ a cup of the milk while stirring constantly.
  4. Mix theΒ ΒΌ cup milk with the cornstarch and add to the sugar mixture and stir until thickened.
  5. Remove from the heat and stir in the butter and vanilla essence.
  6. Pour over the pie as soon as it comes out of the oven.
46 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Pie

  1. I adore sweet potato and was thrilled to discover how very healthy it is when researching a recent post of my own. I am very happy to find yet another way to eat it!

  2. As much as I enjoy pumpkin pie, I’ll opt for a piece of sweet potato pie if given the choice. I love it but have always relied upon the kindness of others for a piece. Well, this year, thanks to you, I’ll be making my own. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Mandy, and have a great day!

  3. I’ve heard of sweet potato pie, but I’ve never actually read a recipe. It looks fantabulous! The only problem is that I’d be the only one in my house that would eat it. And I would certainly eat it! πŸ™‚

  4. Wow, It’s looking smooth sister! Just divine, what’s the texture like…is it cut and eat a piece of bowl and spoon! I’ve never eaten this type of pie. Time for experiments!x

  5. I can’t wait for the family tree to be completed so that our complete cook book author can come back “down to earth”.

    The pie sounds delish…can’t wait to serve it to my many daily visitors

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

